Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Delish! I doubled the recipe and used 1 can pumpkin (not quite 2 cups) and used 2 large cans mandarin organges (drained) in place of the whole oranges. Also cut down on the sugar and water (since the mandarin oranges have extra liquid). I've already made this 4 times in 2 weeks and given out the recipe twice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Imagine all the wonderful fragrances of the holidays: pumpkin, orange and spices. That's what this orange pumpkin loaf bakes up to be. I was a little skeptical about using and entire oranges, but the results are fantastic. I prefer dried cranberries to raisins so that's what I used. Otherwise, I made no changes to the recipe as written and suggest that you follow it as well. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is the all time best for orange and pumpkin lovers!!!! I add dried cranberries and make it in small loaves and put them in my holiday cookie baskets in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
YUM YUM YUM!!! I wanted to make some type of pumpkin bread since fall is finally here. This turned out wonderful, filled our house with such a wonderful pumpkin scent. The only thing I did differently was instead of adding a processed orange, I added the juice of two oranges and the zest of 1. It turned out perfect, has a nice blend of pumpkin & orange. The outer layer of the loaf was nice & crunchy, didn't need anything added to it. Thanks so much for this recipe, I will definitely be making this during the holidays. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
omgoodness gracious. this was so freaking yummy, but i felt like murdering the loaf during the baking process. it was literally in the oven for over 2 hours and still overly moist in the middle. i did everything possible to cook the middle, including slicing the bread before it was done cooking. and argh i was getting so frustrated. however, i think i may have been the one to blame, because i melted the butter and replaced half of it with applesauce. This made it practically fat-free and really moist, but it would not cook in the middle. also, for those who are as lazy as i am, there is no need to stick the orange in a blender. i simply peeled it, squeezed it, and then just pretty much added the extra chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Really good loaf, but I will also cut down on the orange a bit next time, as the pumpkin is overpowered. I also had difficulty with the food processor (small chopper) not getting all the peel into small enough pieces so next time I'll zest first. I had to pick all the big pieces out of the batter and cut them by hand! Yikes! Other than that, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and left out the nuts. This recipe is awesome! My mom is a super-chef and she couldn't duplicate it! This is the first recipe I've had my family of chefs *request* that I make for Christmas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe was good, but not my favorite pumpkin bread recipe. I went with what the recipe said and I have to agree with the others, the orange flavor of one whole orange is just too strong. I also left out the raisins and used splenda instead of sugar. Also as a plus, it did stand up to my forgetting it in the oven for a while. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe is sooo good! When I was little my mom used to make this but she lost the recipe. I suprised her last year with this recipe when she came down and WOW! Just like the one mom used to make! So good with cinnabutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was a very good, moist bread but, as others have said, there is just too much orange. I'd leave out the peel next time since that's where so much of the overpowering orange taste comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States