Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Instead of raisins I did craisins because I had them on hand. It smelled wonderful and people loved it. Although I felt it had too much flavor to it. It was a huge hit with those I gave it to for Christmas gifts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I was curious how using a whole orange would work so I made this. I do not like cloves so I changed up the spices 1 teaspoon of cinnamon 1/2 teaspoon of ginger, 1 teaspoon vanilla. It came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Soooooo moist and yummy! We chowed through 3/4 of the loaf before it was even cooled off! Even my extremely picky five-year old loved it! My tweaks: I did 1c all-purpose flour & 1c whole wheat flour. I completely forgot to add the nuts & raisins. And I substituted 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon & cloves. I think it could use a touch more spice (because I LOVE these spices), so I'll probably increase it to 1.5 tsp next time. And my orange was kinda small, so I think I'll use 1.5 small oranges. Thanks for this wonderful recipe! I will be giving a couple loaves as gifts for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I saw Sarah Jo's review and decided to use fresh cranberries (I bought several bags on clearance after Thanksgiving). I love the combo of orange/cranberry. I pulsed it in my food processor after doing the orange. My orange was probably only medium sized, but very juicy and delish. I subbed 1 cup of Whole Wheat Pastry flour for 1 cup of All Purpose. I used my homemade pumpkin pie spice (it has a touch of cardamom in it, makes it so good!). Less walnuts, only because I didn't have many, and left out the raisins. I baked it in my pampered chef mini loaf stone. Delish, moist and bursting with flavor! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I used a large Clementine in this recipe. I made muffins out of this recipe as well. I only made two small changes in this recipe and that was using 1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices and I used pecans instead of walnuts, as we do not like walnuts. I got 18 medium sized muffins out of one recipe. I baked them at 350* for exactly 20 minutes. I have to say that the orange and pumpkin combined is just amazing. I love it. I think using the whole clementine is absolutely genius. I would have never thought of it. It's one of the moistest muffins I've ever had and the sweetness is just where it should be. My one issue is that it dosen't have enough "stuff". For me, this needs more raisins. Next time, I'll double the amount of raisins. I think this would be EXCELLENT with chopped fresh cranberries, too. I'm quite impressed with the use of the whole orange. Very smart. It's great now, I can only imagine how good it will be tomorrow after it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I made this exactly to the recipe (except doubled for 2 loaves). I was nervous about the whole orange (peel and everything) and I was right. My husband and I had such a strong taste of the bitter part of the peel that it overshadowed the rest of the taste, which was good. I might try this again, but instead of using the peel I would zest the orange and then use the peeled orange in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIE LEANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delish! I added Craisins instead of raisins. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious! Note that the dominant flavour is orange, not pumpkin. I made it exactly as the recipe states, except mine took about 75 mins to cook. Next time I'll line my pan in parchment paper because the bottom stuck. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My favorite breakfast bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbslips

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is just fantastic! It has a very unique flavour for sure! Definitely be careful not to over mix. I discovered the hard way that you will get an edible but flat and ugly loaf if you do. I did however find I needed to add about 2-3 tblsp more flour, and the loaf was perfectly done after about 1 hour and 15 minutes rather than just an hour. Also, I tried sub-ing brown sugar for white and wound up with a dark and bitter carmelized crust. I wouldn't suggest it, but maybe I screwed up somewhere. This really is a gem! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States