Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Amazing. Scraped the white pith off the rind to avoid bitterness. Made into muffins. Lots of compliments. Will reduce sugar to 1 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Slight modifications: reduced sugar to 1 1/8 cups, used 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 c white, replaced raisins with an additional 1/2 c walnuts, changed spices to 1 t cinnamon, 1/2 t nutmeg, 1/4 t allspice, 1/4 t cloves. Required 75 minutes to bake. Excellent - not too sweet, and no bitterness at all. Next time I will try in 2 loaf pans and it made a very large loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Just Fabulous!!! I was worried at first because the batter was very loose but it baked beautifully. I only used 1/4 tsp cloves & added an extra 1/4 tsp cinnamon and used pecans in place of walnuts. Great with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Delicious, moist, mouthful, sweet, delicate, Beautiful!!! I had Tangerines, so I used them instead of oranges and exchanged half of the sugar for Sucralose. The outcome was a memorable pumpkin bread that will be in my Holiday menu from now on. Great dishes and Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I felt like something chocolate, so I added dark chocolate chips, and drizzled chocolate on top. It was so delicious, chocolatey and moist. I did not use the orange rid, as I missed that in the directions, and used a tangerine, as that's what I had. I've bought some candied orange rind, to use next time, to boost the orange flavour. Also, doubled the nuts, 'cause I'm a nut Nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
like the orange, still not good enogh for cookie exchange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
very moist. I swapped the raisins for cranberries. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe as written, but used cupcake tins to make muffins. Cooking at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, the recipe made 18 perfect muffins. I wanted to try this recipe before making more for Thanksgiving. I think they will be well received by my whole family. They are sweet, but not to the elevation of dessert, yet a simple cream cheese frosting or orange frosting could easily bring them to the dessert level. These would be perfect for a tea party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Traveler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I love this loaf, use a small orange or it might be too strong with the oils in the rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Food*on*face

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this vegan style. Used canola oil in place of butter, omitted eggs (substituted with a tbs extra oil and 1/4 water). Bread was very moist. Did not have raisins or walnuts (these would add more texture to the bread). There was a little too much clove flavor for my liking-next time I would use half as much (maybe replace half with Nutmeg?) All in all pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States