Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
YUM! I substitute chocolate chips for the raisins, pecans for the walnuts, and add the following spices from another recipe: 1 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ginger. Mini-loaves make wonderful gifts, or I often make a big loaf, slice it up, and serve it on a platter for parties. It always disappears and gets great compliments! Definitely cook a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I brought this loaf to work for my co-workers today as a Halloween treat. It's moist and has a very unusual and fresh flavor. It did take about an hour and ten minutes to cook, and I substituted nutmeg for the cloves. It's delicious, and two of my co-workers have told me it's the best pumpkin bread they've ever had. I will definitely make this one again. Thanks, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
A wonderful orange flavor with the dense texture of a pumkin bread. My family loved it! In fact, I am already being requested to make more (and I doubled it the first time). It is in my recipe box permanently! As for advice, I found doubling the recipe yielded three 7 x 3 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
amazing! made it late at night, my house smelled like i was baking all day! i was fighting myself to eat it till my kids asked me for a slice.fantastic !!!! i followed some suggestions re: baked in 10" bundt pan & for an extra 10 minutes; replaced raisins with cranberries. very yummy ! very moist!thank you for this recipe it's a keeper and will sure be a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Wonderful! The orange really added a unique twist. I also used dates instead of raisins, as suggested and it was fabulous. I added an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and used milk instead of water. It made a little more than one loaf, so I made a mini loaf with the extra batter. The texture was perfect. Not a bit underdone on the inside, but I may have baked it longer than an hour. I just baked it until a toothpick came out clean. Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Moist and delicious! Love the combination of pumpkin and orange together! Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I love this bread. I've been making it for the holidays for 3 or 4 years now. It has always been a hit with everyone. I make my own butter for it with some "pumpkin pie" spice in it. I love the way the flavors mix, but the bread is great with or without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This is truly a delicious loaf. My family wouldn't eat anything with pumpkin in it until I made this loaf. Friends and family can't get enough of it. Everyone who has tried it here has requested the recipe. I've even made it into muffins. It really is a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I thought this bread was exceptionally good! The aroma as it is almost finished baking is wonderful! I really enjoyed the texture when it was warm. I iced mine with a vanilla icing, but it didn't really need any. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I've had pumpkin breads I liked better. This didn't have as much flavor as I'd hoped it would have. I added nutmeg and cinnamon but it still seemed to be missing some sort of kick. I'd make it again, but not until I played around with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States