Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Yumos! I made this and my family loved the pumpkin and orange together, however, the orange is a little overpowering-I'll use less next time and I used 1/2 teaspoon cinammon, 1 teaspoon pumpkin spices, and subsitutes dried cranberries for the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I love how the orange and the spices compliment the pumpkin flavour. The only modification I made was that I grated an orange and then squeezed all the juice and pulp, rather than putting the whole thing in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I've made this several times now, both following the recipe exactly, and halving the orange and using more pumpkin. Both ways it turns out great. I just made a batch last night by filling wide mouth mason jars half full and baking the bread in the jars. Those turned wonderfully, so I think I'll be doing lots more for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
The first time I made this I followed it to the letter. The 2nd time I used an entire 15 oz can of pumpkin and only 1/4 of an orange. I mixed them together in the blender before adding them to the rest of the ingredients. Much better! The whole orange overpowers the pumpkin, so less gives you a hint of orange and plenty of pumpkin flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was fantastic, love the orange and pumpkin together. My recipe had some changes though. I used half whole-wheat flour in the recipe. I only used 1 cup of sugar per loaf, not 1 1/3 cups. I used macadamia nuts and chocolate chips instead of walnuts and raisins, and in my two-loaf recipe I used one orange and one lemon. I also had to bake for an additional half hour in order to get the center solidified. Next time I will try a Bundt pan or cupcakes instead. It came out very cake-like and sweet. We had it for dessert last night and for breakfast this morning. I would consider making it for a special occasion in place of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This may be my new favorite recipe for pumpkin bread, very nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was absolutely delicious just as sumbmitted, but since I know I will be making it SO many more times in the future, I'm looking forward to varying the nuts and fruit. Mmmm! But again, 5* as is, no need for improvement if you ask me! Thank you so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is the best ever recipe. I am diabetic and cut the sugar down to half the amount. It was so flavourful and moist, that the kids didnt even notice the sugar missing. I will make this again, but double the recipe as one loaf isnt enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Very good and easy to make. Tastes even better after 1 day of sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA GARDNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
really loved this! doubled the recipe so i could just use 1 can of pumpkin and used dried cranberries and pecans. made 3 smaller loaves that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States