Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
YUM YUM YUM!!! I wanted to make some type of pumpkin bread since fall is finally here. This turned out wonderful, filled our house with such a wonderful pumpkin scent. The only thing I did differently was instead of adding a processed orange, I added the juice of two oranges and the zest of 1. It turned out perfect, has a nice blend of pumpkin & orange. The outer layer of the loaf was nice & crunchy, didn't need anything added to it. Thanks so much for this recipe, I will definitely be making this during the holidays. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
omgoodness gracious. this was so freaking yummy, but i felt like murdering the loaf during the baking process. it was literally in the oven for over 2 hours and still overly moist in the middle. i did everything possible to cook the middle, including slicing the bread before it was done cooking. and argh i was getting so frustrated. however, i think i may have been the one to blame, because i melted the butter and replaced half of it with applesauce. This made it practically fat-free and really moist, but it would not cook in the middle. also, for those who are as lazy as i am, there is no need to stick the orange in a blender. i simply peeled it, squeezed it, and then just pretty much added the extra chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Really good loaf, but I will also cut down on the orange a bit next time, as the pumpkin is overpowered. I also had difficulty with the food processor (small chopper) not getting all the peel into small enough pieces so next time I'll zest first. I had to pick all the big pieces out of the batter and cut them by hand! Yikes! Other than that, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and left out the nuts. This recipe is awesome! My mom is a super-chef and she couldn't duplicate it! This is the first recipe I've had my family of chefs *request* that I make for Christmas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe was good, but not my favorite pumpkin bread recipe. I went with what the recipe said and I have to agree with the others, the orange flavor of one whole orange is just too strong. I also left out the raisins and used splenda instead of sugar. Also as a plus, it did stand up to my forgetting it in the oven for a while. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe is sooo good! When I was little my mom used to make this but she lost the recipe. I suprised her last year with this recipe when she came down and WOW! Just like the one mom used to make! So good with cinnabutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was a very good, moist bread but, as others have said, there is just too much orange. I'd leave out the peel next time since that's where so much of the overpowering orange taste comes from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Wonderful!! I used a blender for the orange and added a few mini choc. chips. Made 1 loaf and 18 mini muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Amazing! The nuts make it so don't skip them if you don't have to. Mine took 1hr 10min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I don't really "appreciate" sweet, quick breads - but this one is a winner! I doubled the recipe and used three mandarine oranges (311 grams total). Excellent. It made one regular loaf as well as five "mini" loaves. I put chocolate chips in some and dried cranberries in others - very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States