Orange Pumpkin Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This bread was too sweet, too much cloves, slightly bitter from all the orange peel. I certainly won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Tried this for Thanksgiving and it's definitely a keeper. Moist and delicious without butter or spread of any kind. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
AMAZING! Giving it 5 stars because it was so tasty, I used fresh pumpkin puree that I had on hand in the freezer for this, delicious! The only thing I might possibly change is cutting it down to a half of an orange. as the taste of the orange was a little overpowering. Maybe I would not include the entire peel and rind of it, just the orange slices themselves. I used sunflower seeds instead of nuts, mmmm mmmmmmmm good! Thanks for the great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
a little bitter and it turned out too fragile for me, but otherwise i liked it. I substituted chopped dates for the raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian Currier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great tasting Orange loaf. I would have to say that the Pumpkin taste gets a little lost in this but it is still so full of flavor and delicious that it definitely deserves 5 stars hands down. I didn't use raisins because of my kids but in my opinion that would have been great too. I would recommend baking it longer because towards the bottom it was still a little uncooked. A keeper and great any time of the year though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Fabulous recipe!!! Just perfect. Moist and all the smells and flavors of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joycie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didn't care for this very much, but I think it was just personal prefrence. I might make again, but I would just use the inside of the orange and zest it. The orange peices were a little too hard for my taste. But otherwise it would have been very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband loved this Orange Pumpkin bread that he ate half the loaf as soon as it was cool enough to cut. Thanks for sharing. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Yum! I used a blender to mash the orange and added the 1/3 cup of water to help it along - that seemed to work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is the ultimate pumpkin bread! Everyone who sampled it was won over on first taste! The combination of flavors is genius - don't change a thing the first time you make it. The spices are perfectly balanced - I'm not crazy about cloves, but follow the recipe and you will see what I mean... And always bake an item until it is done - ovens can vary so much that it is usually not possible to say exactly how many minutes to bake something. Learn how to test by touch and using a cake tester, as well as by how the sides shrink from the pan, and you will find the perfect time for your oven. You MUST try the loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States