Orange Pull Aparts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Lovely bread using a flip-book method. Replaced it with lemon and poppyseed, which I loved. Only wished I'd had used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Loved it!!! Awesome taste and soooo easy! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Even with orange rind, orange flavoring, and orange juice these were still not quite oragie flavored, I think ill add the glaze, and see what happens. Certainly good for breakfast, and awesome with some ground clove and ginger for a little extra something! Would make again for sure! Also works fine in a circular pan if you dont have a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Great idea. However, I noticed dough was not balling up in the dough cycle. I kept adding flour until a nice ball was formed. It is easy to eyeball and fix, by adding flour to dough while mixing in bread machine. I also used more sugar and butter to dip the dough in, but that was personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
There is wayyy too little flour in this recipe. After going through the dough cycle in my bread machine, the "dough" looked more like batter. I ended up adding about 1/2 c plus a few tablespoons of flour to get it to the proper consistency. It still wasn't pliable enough to roll in the butter and sugar, so I skipped the butter, gently patted into sugar, then dropped the balls into a 9" square pan. I mixed the butter with a little bit of brown sugar and sprinkled on top. After adding the extra flour, it came out pretty good. The orange flavor is really nice. For the topping, I mixed about 1/2 c of powdered sugar with a little bit of milk and a bit of almond extract and drizzled it on top. If you make this recipe, make sure you have extra flour because you will need it. I'll make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hklinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I wass looking for a different recipie and this one was on the opening page. Since I love monkey bread, I wrote this one down and made it the same day. I had to make it again the next day because it disapeared. I followed the recipie as is exept for the zest. I had orange juice only and it turned out amazing. For something extra, I melted some chocolate and we dipped the pieces in it. W O W!!! Thanks for the recipie. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I am only taking off a star because of the recipe needing 1/4 more flour, but other than that I would give this recipe 10 stars. The flavor is amazing. I could have eaten the entire thing last night even after eater dinner. A total hit in my home. I only altered rolling it in brown sugar verses white, and I also used more brown sugar that the recipe states!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Rating is based on my 1st attempt as the recipe stated. I decided to give it one more shot, using my experience to guide me, & was not disappointed. I made these using all WHITE whole wheat flour& 2T "vital wheat gluten". I have found from many years of baking w/ww flour that almost any yeast bread recipe that uses egg (i.e. challah, rolls etc.) will convert cup for cup from white to wheat & still be light/fluffy, others may need tweaking, or the addition of some white flour. The dough was still quite wet so I added a more flour (1/4c). I used smart balance oil instead of butter in both parts of the recipe (butter was frozen, didn't feel it was worth the trouble for such a smll amt). I didn't worry about this in the bread part, since I always use oil in lieu of butter in my yeast breads, but was concerned if it would affect taste for the dipping part, it didn't (only need 2-3T oil for dipping). I used 2T honey for the sugar in the bread part of the recipe (something else I always do, dealing w/whole wheat breads; the honey/oil combo keep my wheat breads nice and moist), but I still used (BRWN)sugar for dipping (doubled this amt to 6T; the 1st time I made this 3 wasn't enough). Made the pieces smaller this time (35-40 instead of 20) because w/my whole wheat monkey bread, I find it this gives each bite flavor, or else some bites just taste like bread. I let it rise on the counter for 35min, then covered, put in fridge until am. Only took about 20-22 min,so watch your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a fantastic bread recipe! Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
WAS OK BUT NEEDS WAY MORE SAUCE AND THE TIMING IS WAY OFF OTHERWISE NOT TOO BAD. MAKE AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States