Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good, but it didn't rock our world. I probably won't make it again any time soon...."To each his own"! Thanks for sharing tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
4 stars for the concept and I made some minor changes. For the pork, I cut the chops into strips as others did, and for the sauce, instead of using water I used ginger ale and used brown sugar instead of white. Reduced the amount of sugar to counter the sugar in the ginger ale, and tripled the amounts for 3x the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
For those who prefer a more authentic Asian flavour consider adding scallions (green onions) cut on the bias,snow peas, garlic, and the aromatic Chinese five spice cinnamon,star anise fennel,cloves,ginger,licorice,szechuan peppercorn and white pepper) which can be found in most grocery stores. Five Spices can be potent so I recommend starting lightly ,tasting as you mix and adding more if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Mmmm this was really good! As usual I switched up a couple things as suggested by other reviewers! The first time I made it I cut up the pork into strips and fried it in peanut oil. I cut back on the soy sauce and substituted with more OJ, and used brown sugar instead of white sugar and served it on white rice! The second time was even better! I used strips of chicken instead of pork and doubled the sauce (using the same changes as previously mentioned). Then I made it into a stir fry with a bag of frozen veggies! The kind with the sugar snap peas, water chestnuts, baby corn, and julienned carrots, and red and yellow peppers. Mixed in the chicken and sauce it was so good (there was plenty of sauce to coat the veggies and chicken!! It was great served with rice and spring rolls as a side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Easy to make. My family said it was ok. A little to tangy for my taste. May try again but use brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Jordan-Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Really good orange flavor. In my case the meat was a little tough. Otherwise, we really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was FABULOUS!!!!!!! My kids loved it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy Vanessa Yapelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I don't often write reviews but I love this recipe so much that I wanted to do it. I've made this with both chicken and pork and both were delicious. I always make twice the sauce because I like it so much. I followed other suggestions to use more OJ and less Soy sauce which made a much more orange flavor which we like. I've done both types of sugar and liked both. I highly recommend this recipe and feel it's one you can experiment with, without messing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Pace Pinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Good. Quick. Want to try making it the way some of the other people made it (cut the pork in chunks and put it over rice - a la Asian dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was great and so fast to make. Sauce was much thicker than in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States