Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These chops were outstanding and every bite was gone. The only change to the sauce was that I doubled the orange juice and added two cloves of crushed garlic. I thickened the sauce a little bit with a small amount of flour. I served the chops over rice. We will definitely have this again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We loved this! Like many other reviewers, I followed the suggestions of LIZ5 for the stir-fry and used low-sodium soy sauce. I used homemade chicken broth which cut both the saltiness of the soy and mellowed the impact of the orange juice, but it worked for us. (I added 2 1/3 c broth and ended up adding 1 T cornstarch mixed with 2 T water to thicken. The flour wasn't enough on it's own to thicken that much liquid) Did add 2 cloves fresh minced garlic, but had to use ground ginger (1/4 t), because I didn't have any fresh. Used shredded carrot, celery, water chestnuts and broccoli this time, but I am sure other veggie combos would work just as well. Definitely give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This recipe gives you such amazing Asian/orange flavors. I followed the stir-fry suggestions of some other reviewers--used strips of pork and added garlic, fresh ginger root, red pepper flakes, fresh veggies, water chestnuts, a little chicken broth. Delicious and easy. I used low-sodium soy sauce and that was just right. I think this would be even tastier with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My husband said it didn't have any taste. My daughter thought it was too much orange flavor even though I didn't put as much oj in and also added other things (garlic, chili paste, carrots, water chestnuts, and more). My husband told me not to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good, but it didn't rock our world. I probably won't make it again any time soon...."To each his own"! Thanks for sharing tho! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
4 stars for the concept and I made some minor changes. For the pork, I cut the chops into strips as others did, and for the sauce, instead of using water I used ginger ale and used brown sugar instead of white. Reduced the amount of sugar to counter the sugar in the ginger ale, and tripled the amounts for 3x the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
For those who prefer a more authentic Asian flavour consider adding scallions (green onions) cut on the bias,snow peas, garlic, and the aromatic Chinese five spice cinnamon,star anise fennel,cloves,ginger,licorice,szechuan peppercorn and white pepper) which can be found in most grocery stores. Five Spices can be potent so I recommend starting lightly ,tasting as you mix and adding more if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Mmmm this was really good! As usual I switched up a couple things as suggested by other reviewers! The first time I made it I cut up the pork into strips and fried it in peanut oil. I cut back on the soy sauce and substituted with more OJ, and used brown sugar instead of white sugar and served it on white rice! The second time was even better! I used strips of chicken instead of pork and doubled the sauce (using the same changes as previously mentioned). Then I made it into a stir fry with a bag of frozen veggies! The kind with the sugar snap peas, water chestnuts, baby corn, and julienned carrots, and red and yellow peppers. Mixed in the chicken and sauce it was so good (there was plenty of sauce to coat the veggies and chicken!! It was great served with rice and spring rolls as a side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Easy to make. My family said it was ok. A little to tangy for my taste. May try again but use brown sugar instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Really good orange flavor. In my case the meat was a little tough. Otherwise, we really enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States