Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Came out great!! I did make some changes however... I cut the pork chopsinto rectangular peices and dipped in flour before I sauted them. (I added cracked pepper, salt, ginger, garlic powder and mesquite seasoning to the flour.) I doubled the OJ and brown sugar and only used 1/8th soy sauce. I added matchstick carrots (1/2 cup), sliced red, orange and yellow sweet peppers (about 8 med sized peppers) Garlic and half a medium onion. instead of adding corn starch I added low sodium chicken broth like someone suggested... I added the chicken and let it simmer down and thicken up. Came out great!!! Thanks all for your recipe and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie0469
Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
The gravy was a little too salty. Next time, I will use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Excellent dish! I picked up a pound of boneless pork loinchops that I cut up in large pieces. I seasoned with salt and black pepper and dredged in flour. In a skillet I heated up the veg oil then cooked the pork chops, and set it aside. To the same skillet I added a little more oil, then I grated a ginger (thumb size) and added one garlic clove, chopped,and scraped the bottom bits up before adding the orange juice, soy sauce and brown sugar. I heated up the sauce to a boil. I actually used 2 naval oranges for the orange juice called for in this recipe. I also zested a little orange (1 tsp.)for a more stronger orange flavor. I thickened up the sauce with cornstarch and orange juice that I reserved on the side. I added the pork back and simmered for a few more minutes. Delicious and full of flavor! I was very pleased with this dish - easy to prepare and very tasty. I loved the orange sauce which was just right, not overpowering at all. The brown sugar was a better choice for the orange sauce. The orangey aroma was inviting as well. I served this with, "Colorful Fried Rice," and "Garlic Broccoli Spears," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I didnt have a great orange juice but other than that it wasnt too bad but I found it had a funny smell while cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Buckle
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Really good, with similar modifications as others. Made it as a stir fry: doubled and sliced the meat; tripled the sauce, adding diced ginger and garlic; substituted brown sugar for white; added broccoli, carrots, and zucchini. Close enough to Chinese for the picky 10 and 12 year olds at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was a great meal. I will cook it again. I did make one little change to it though. Instead of using orange juice, I used orange pineapple banana juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
DELISH!! I added sliced carrots and frozen broccoli at the end was my only change and is was perfect. Will make again for for sure : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe is an excellent base from which to add your own special twist. I took some of the other reviewers' advice and sliced the pork thin before frying. Gave it a wonderful, crispy quality. I gave four i/o five stars because you do need to tweak it to give the recipe that 'Wow' factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I didn't have pork chops, but I did have several oranges I needed to use and some pork country style ribs so I just used it. I followed the recipe exactly using a slow cooker to cook them. Big hit with the family. My husband doesn't even know he's eating something akin to Chinese food. Thanks for the great recipe!! I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This recipe didn't go over as well as we'd hoped. It was easy to prepar, but not the right flavor for us with pork, the OJ was too sweet, and the taste of soy sauce wasn't right either. Over all it was fine if the taste meets your preferences
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States