Orange Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly. The first time I tasted it I thought it was salty. My husband wasn't home yet so I let it cook on the stove. When we finally ate I didn't think it was quite as salty. This recipe doesn't really give cooking times. It was easy, tasty & I had all of the ingredients. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Very tasty, my family loved it! I followed some other suggestions here (less soy sauce, use brown sugar). But I also changed some things though. I used pork shoulders and cut them into 1" cubes and coated it in an egg whites-cornstarch mixture (3 egg whites + ½ cup cornstarch) before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I followed suggestions from other reviewers--doubled the orange juice, halved the soy sauce and used brown sugar. Otherwise followed recipe exactly. Sauce was great; I think I'll try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
at first I thought it was too orangey and too salty, but everyone loved it. **I added lots of crushed red pepper and a few dashes of habanero sauce to make it spicy. I also added some orange peel, ginger, and chicken broth. I just added, tasted, added, tasted until I was satisfied with the flavor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
We enjoyed these. I added a bit more Soy Sauce (low sodium), a "glug" of Dry Sherry, garlic powder while browning and a touch of Ginger Paste. Nice meal with the rice and broccoli. Thanks, fireball2000.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I generally do not rate a recipe if I made changes without trying the original first. But, this time I did not have any orange juice on hand and used lemonade and orange flavoring. We were able to taste a subtle hint of the orange and the soy sauce was not overpowering but added depth to the flavor. I dredged the chops in flour and browned, then made sauce and put chops back in to cook for about 20 minutes. Very tender - served with Carribean Rice. I would serve to company, nice post...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This turned out great and was a big hit with my family. I used sliced chicken instead of pork and added cooked, frozen broccoli at the end when I put the chicken back into the sauce. It was delicious! Next time I will add the fresh ginger and garlic that others suggested and try using brown sugar instead. It was really good served with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Very yummy! It was tender, flavorful, and simple. Everyone elses' tips were really helpful. The ginger and garlic definetely added flavor, and reducing the soy sauce and sugar helped the dish. This would most likely go well with mushrooms. Probably making this again sometime soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Sorry, but I can only give this 3 stars. Basically it is a good recipe but definitely (in my opinion) needed some help. I substituted brown sugar for white and added 2 tsps. of grated fresh gingerroot to the sauce. Also added 1/2 tsp. of powdered mustard. To our taste this was a little more lively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States