Orange Peel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I wanted to try this recipe because it looked so interesting. It turned out delicious! A whole cup of orange zest is an extremely large amount, and I only had three oranges so I could only get about 2/3 of a cup. It did take a lot longer to cook on the stove than the recipe says. I think it was about 30 minutes altogether, not counting assembling the cake ingredients. The cake did turn out a bit crumbly, but it is so delicious warm out of the oven! I recommend it with a light powdered sugar vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great bread recipe! Mild orange flavor, fantastic aroma, great consistency! My only change was adding an extra tablespoon of butter. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I was curious to use whole 1 cup of orange zest. this one was fairly easy to make but i'm not sure if the flavor is that great. It's not bad but not as moist/tasty as i wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I was looking for an old-fashioned recipe when I came across this. Turned out perfect. I was worried there was not enough butter to make it moist but it was great. Would be nice with an orange drizzle or and fruity cream cheese spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Awesome recipe, i absolutely love it i also used lemon in place of orange zest and i am now experimenting using strawberry preserves. very universal i definitely recommend it. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I needed a moist flavorful recipe. Once I added a simple glaze (1/4 c butter, 2/3 c confectioners sugar and 1/3 c orange juice melted & mixed well) to the bread as it came out of the oven, this was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Made exactly as written. The kitchen smelled wonderful as it was baking and could hardly wait until it was finished. Ate this with some hot orange spice tea for a nice change on a Sunday morning; we all enjoyed it very much. May try a little chocolate glaze next time. Thanks for sharing, Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this recipe with homemade, previously prepared candied lemon peel instead of orange zest (lemons gifted by a very nice neighbor.) Baked it in two small loaf pans for 45 minutes, and added loritab123's glaze made with lemon juice. Bread was a beautiful yellow color, and absolutely delicious! Wish I could share a picture, but the bread disappeared too quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States