Orange Peel Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is really good and so easy! I, too, cooked the beef first and then added the garlic, ginger and orange zest. Used 2/3 C prepared orange juice. Will add green onions next time and maybe water chestnuts. Topped with a bit of minced parsley and served with rice. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is delicious... in my opinion, about as close as it gets to "authentic" Chinese take-out. Beef didn't come out as crispy as I might have liked, but I wasn't able to slice it "paper thin" either. Nonetheless, it was extremely tender and flavorful. I did make one little addition in adding a "glug" of Riesling to the sauce mixture. Next time I make this, I think I'll double the sauce part of the recipe (except for the OJ concentrate... it's orangey enough) so as to have more to put over the rice. Served with broccoli as well. Heaven on a plate, Diane... keep your recipe's coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Wonderful! I doubled the sauce and skipped the pepper flakes, however. Instead I used a 'Cuban Death Bed'. This is an alcoholic shot where you de-seed a habenero pepper and soak grand marnier in it for about 5 minutes. I used two. This made the spice smooth and uniform, and diluted enough not to make the dish unpleasantly hot. I mixed this with the batch of sauce poured in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband & I loved this recipe and he is a "meat & potatoes" man. I did fry the beef first by itself and it did work out very well. I put in a little too much red pepper so I added some carrots to absorb some of the heat. It has a very "take out" flavor. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMYALLEN83
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Delicious! I doubled the sauce since hubby likes lots of sauce. I like my beef super crispy, so instead of cooking the beef in a pan, after marinating it I rolled it in cornstarch and deep fried it. I used powdered ginger and garlic instead of fresh, and I just put it along with my orange zest in the sauce mixture, then cooked my sauce mixture until thickened. I added cooked frozen broccoli to the sauce(if you add it still frozen it could water down the sauce), and then finally added the deep fried beef and stirred everything to coat with sauce. Scrumptious! Thank you, Diane! I always love to get good new Asian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Flavor was delicious and when kids like it,even better. I should have followed the previous suggestion to fry the beef a bit before throwing in the garlic,orange peel, and ginger because it did get kind of crispy before the beef did. Next time will add veges. Family says this recipe a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very nice dish, made exactly as the recipe stated. Meat was marinated all day and cooked up very quickly and was tender. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME. I used it for chicken, over rice noodles, and the taste was better than a restaurant. I used fresh oranges, 3/4 teaspoon ginger powder, and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion powder before cooking, and followed the rest of the recipe. AND I didn't even marinate. The flavors came together wonderfully. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. It's pretty darn good. I did change up the way it all goes together based on what some others had said. I deep fried the beef separately from the sauce. Mix all the ingredients for the sauce with the exception of the garlic, ginger, orange peel and oil. After the beef is finished cooking heat the oil and saute the garlic and ginger for about 1 minute. Don't let the garlic burn. Then add the orange peel and the other ingredients. Stir until it's thick and then pour over the meat and mix to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Tastes like authentic Chinese. That being said, when my husband prepared it, he used 2 lb of beef, and doubled everything else - with the exception of the red pepper flakes, which he quadrupled. He also deep fried the beef to make it crispy, since we do not have a wok. The sauce made a nice glaze, which let the brown rice we served it with, stick to it nicely. It was on the higher end of my hotness tolerance for me, but my husband could take it spicier - so a nice average for the spice level. If you would like to serve any broccoli, or other veggies with it, I would recommend doing either 4x or 6x the amount of sauce in the recipe, and cut back a bit on the cornstarch. With the extra pepper, the flavors of the orange, ginger, garlic and sesame really came through. Another variation we will try is frying the beef and serving the sauce as a dipping side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States