Orange Peel Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is delicious... in my opinion, about as close as it gets to "authentic" Chinese take-out. Beef didn't come out as crispy as I might have liked, but I wasn't able to slice it "paper thin" either. Nonetheless, it was extremely tender and flavorful. I did make one little addition in adding a "glug" of Riesling to the sauce mixture. Next time I make this, I think I'll double the sauce part of the recipe (except for the OJ concentrate... it's orangey enough) so as to have more to put over the rice. Served with broccoli as well. Heaven on a plate, Diane... keep your recipe's coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I think it may have been better for me to stir-fry the beef by itself in the peanut oil for a few minutes, and then follow with the fresh ginger, garlic, & orange peel, as the wonderful flavors of these were lost in the high heat, even for the short time they were sauteed. They ended up sticking to the bottom of my non-stick wok, so those ingredients crisped up, but the beef didn't. Made this with broccoli, and served with steamed rice. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Dianemwj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. It's pretty darn good. I did change up the way it all goes together based on what some others had said. I deep fried the beef separately from the sauce. Mix all the ingredients for the sauce with the exception of the garlic, ginger, orange peel and oil. After the beef is finished cooking heat the oil and saute the garlic and ginger for about 1 minute. Don't let the garlic burn. Then add the orange peel and the other ingredients. Stir until it's thick and then pour over the meat and mix to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Good flavors. I fried my beef in the deep fryer to get it crisp (I tripled the recipe and wasn't into doing lots of batches of it) and made the sauce in the wok. The sauce is pretty sweet and strong, so you may want to dilute it with some regular orange juice like I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMYALLEN83
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Delicious! I doubled the sauce since hubby likes lots of sauce. I like my beef super crispy, so instead of cooking the beef in a pan, after marinating it I rolled it in cornstarch and deep fried it. I used powdered ginger and garlic instead of fresh, and I just put it along with my orange zest in the sauce mixture, then cooked my sauce mixture until thickened. I added cooked frozen broccoli to the sauce(if you add it still frozen it could water down the sauce), and then finally added the deep fried beef and stirred everything to coat with sauce. Scrumptious! Thank you, Diane! I always love to get good new Asian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME. I used it for chicken, over rice noodles, and the taste was better than a restaurant. I used fresh oranges, 3/4 teaspoon ginger powder, and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion powder before cooking, and followed the rest of the recipe. AND I didn't even marinate. The flavors came together wonderfully. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I doubled the sauce, b/c I had a bit more meat than the recipe called for. Plus, I decided to add some veggies (a head of broccoli, a red bell pepper, and a small red onion). I didn't have any frozen juice concentrate, so I juiced two lemons and three mandarin oranges, mixed them with 2 tbsp. sugar, and cooked it down till it reduced by half. I also didn't have any rice vinegar, so I used white. The meat was tender and the sauce was tangy. I only wish the meat was crisper on the outside, but the cornstarch it was marinated in started making the meat a bit liquidy, even before I added the orange sauce. It was great overall, and I look forward to leftovers tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is really good and so easy! I, too, cooked the beef first and then added the garlic, ginger and orange zest. Used 2/3 C prepared orange juice. Will add green onions next time and maybe water chestnuts. Topped with a bit of minced parsley and served with rice. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very nice dish, made exactly as the recipe stated. Meat was marinated all day and cooked up very quickly and was tender. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Great recipe Diane! I don't eat beef but I do taste and we all thought it was wonderful. Followed your directions exactly with no changes but next time I may try it with chicken so this gal can enjoy it too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States