Orange Peel Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This recipe is delicious... in my opinion, about as close as it gets to "authentic" Chinese take-out. Beef didn't come out as crispy as I might have liked, but I wasn't able to slice it "paper thin" either. Nonetheless, it was extremely tender and flavorful. I did make one little addition in adding a "glug" of Riesling to the sauce mixture. Next time I make this, I think I'll double the sauce part of the recipe (except for the OJ concentrate... it's orangey enough) so as to have more to put over the rice. Served with broccoli as well. Heaven on a plate, Diane... keep your recipe's coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by AMYALLEN83
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Delicious! I doubled the sauce since hubby likes lots of sauce. I like my beef super crispy, so instead of cooking the beef in a pan, after marinating it I rolled it in cornstarch and deep fried it. I used powdered ginger and garlic instead of fresh, and I just put it along with my orange zest in the sauce mixture, then cooked my sauce mixture until thickened. I added cooked frozen broccoli to the sauce(if you add it still frozen it could water down the sauce), and then finally added the deep fried beef and stirred everything to coat with sauce. Scrumptious! Thank you, Diane! I always love to get good new Asian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I think it may have been better for me to stir-fry the beef by itself in the peanut oil for a few minutes, and then follow with the fresh ginger, garlic, & orange peel, as the wonderful flavors of these were lost in the high heat, even for the short time they were sauteed. They ended up sticking to the bottom of my non-stick wok, so those ingredients crisped up, but the beef didn't. Made this with broccoli, and served with steamed rice. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Dianemwj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Wonderful! I doubled the sauce and skipped the pepper flakes, however. Instead I used a 'Cuban Death Bed'. This is an alcoholic shot where you de-seed a habenero pepper and soak grand marnier in it for about 5 minutes. I used two. This made the spice smooth and uniform, and diluted enough not to make the dish unpleasantly hot. I mixed this with the batch of sauce poured in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Excellent dish!! The recipe was very easy to follow, and it was delicious. We added broccoli and served over basmati rice. We might throw in some carrots and some red bell pepper to add some additional color and texture, but it is a GREAT dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I keep trying to make dishes with orange peel in it and my family keeps telling me not to. Guess we just don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Good flavors. I fried my beef in the deep fryer to get it crisp (I tripled the recipe and wasn't into doing lots of batches of it) and made the sauce in the wok. The sauce is pretty sweet and strong, so you may want to dilute it with some regular orange juice like I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Great recipe Diane! I don't eat beef but I do taste and we all thought it was wonderful. Followed your directions exactly with no changes but next time I may try it with chicken so this gal can enjoy it too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Flavor was delicious and when kids like it,even better. I should have followed the previous suggestion to fry the beef a bit before throwing in the garlic,orange peel, and ginger because it did get kind of crispy before the beef did. Next time will add veges. Family says this recipe a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband & I loved this recipe and he is a "meat & potatoes" man. I did fry the beef first by itself and it did work out very well. I put in a little too much red pepper so I added some carrots to absorb some of the heat. It has a very "take out" flavor. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States