Orange Peel Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Tastes like authentic Chinese. That being said, when my husband prepared it, he used 2 lb of beef, and doubled everything else - with the exception of the red pepper flakes, which he quadrupled. He also deep fried the beef to make it crispy, since we do not have a wok. The sauce made a nice glaze, which let the brown rice we served it with, stick to it nicely. It was on the higher end of my hotness tolerance for me, but my husband could take it spicier - so a nice average for the spice level. If you would like to serve any broccoli, or other veggies with it, I would recommend doing either 4x or 6x the amount of sauce in the recipe, and cut back a bit on the cornstarch. With the extra pepper, the flavors of the orange, ginger, garlic and sesame really came through. Another variation we will try is frying the beef and serving the sauce as a dipping side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight. It's pretty darn good. I did change up the way it all goes together based on what some others had said. I deep fried the beef separately from the sauce. Mix all the ingredients for the sauce with the exception of the garlic, ginger, orange peel and oil. After the beef is finished cooking heat the oil and saute the garlic and ginger for about 1 minute. Don't let the garlic burn. Then add the orange peel and the other ingredients. Stir until it's thick and then pour over the meat and mix to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME. I used it for chicken, over rice noodles, and the taste was better than a restaurant. I used fresh oranges, 3/4 teaspoon ginger powder, and seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion powder before cooking, and followed the rest of the recipe. AND I didn't even marinate. The flavors came together wonderfully. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very nice dish, made exactly as the recipe stated. Meat was marinated all day and cooked up very quickly and was tender. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This wasn't too bad. Might try it again with some revisions...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I very rarely make things twice, but I am making this again. I followed this exactly and it turned out great. Served it with brown rice and steamed broccoli. Hubby approved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband & I loved this recipe and he is a "meat & potatoes" man. I did fry the beef first by itself and it did work out very well. I put in a little too much red pepper so I added some carrots to absorb some of the heat. It has a very "take out" flavor. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Flavor was delicious and when kids like it,even better. I should have followed the previous suggestion to fry the beef a bit before throwing in the garlic,orange peel, and ginger because it did get kind of crispy before the beef did. Next time will add veges. Family says this recipe a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Great recipe Diane! I don't eat beef but I do taste and we all thought it was wonderful. Followed your directions exactly with no changes but next time I may try it with chicken so this gal can enjoy it too. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Good flavors. I fried my beef in the deep fryer to get it crisp (I tripled the recipe and wasn't into doing lots of batches of it) and made the sauce in the wok. The sauce is pretty sweet and strong, so you may want to dilute it with some regular orange juice like I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States