Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I liked the bits of orange peel in this, but it does need to be grated fine. The spice of it was just right. This is a nice offering for any brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Amazing! Everyone loved it! I flipped it over after baking, onto another pan. Recipe doesn't say to do this, but pictures show it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Such a great recipe! I edited it a little bit. For those who are wondering about putting the brown sugar mixture on the bottom, this is what I did. First off, I used 4 eggs, 3/4 cup oj, 1/2 cup milk, and 1/4 cup half and half. I then added the cinnamon and vanilla as well as a bit of nutmeg and allspice and the zest of an entire orange. I didn't use any white sugar. I then placed the bread in the pan and poured the mixture over the bread and let it sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning, before placing it in the oven, I mixed half a cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup melted butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, and 1/3 cup chopped pecans. I then spread this mixture over the top of each slice of bread and then put it in the oven for 45 min. It made a delicious brown sugar crust and tasted heavenly. Nothing stuck to the bottom and everyone loved it. Just a thought for those that worry about it sticking to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a very good, very easy recipe. It is also very sweet. I'll try it again with less sugar next time. I used French bread, cream instead of milk, the zest and the juice of two oranges, and four whole eggs, because that's what I had on hand. All in all, a great, simple recipe if you're wanting a sweet dish in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I was disappointed. Much of the carmelized sugar stuck on the bottom of the pan. What I did lift up was really sticky and chewy. I also did not taste orange at all. I did not have thick bread so used two thinner slices. I might try it again but put the sugar/butter/pecan between the slices. Then I'd make an orange syrup to pour on top when serving. The taste was OK just not at all what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OVER THE TOP!! Served on Christmas morning and only changes I made was to use 1/4 C of Grand Marnier and only 3/4 C of OJ. Used 3 eggs and 2 egg whites. Will definitely be our new Christmas brunch tradition for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this for Christmas breakfast. This is a wonderful and easy dish to make. I made it as written and it was a big hit! I recommend this dish highly. It will be my go to dish for Christmas and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyliss H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beltsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I can't wait to make this again! I used basic table syrup just because I don't buy corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I liked how the orange came through, though it was a bit too sweet for my tastes. The caramel layer seemed thick and distracted from the French toast itself. I'm glad I tried this recipe, though it's not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States