Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a fantastic make ahead recipe. The orange really makes this different than other toasts. Substituted honey for the corn syrup and it worked perfectly. This is perfect for a brunch or special morning dish. Huge hit for young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlebird6
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this for my mother and step-father for his birthday and they loved it! It was delicious and not too sweet. I made no changes from the recipe and followed the exact instructions. The only thing I would maybe do differently would be use staler bread (I used fresh)to give it a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Okay so I have to say I WAS QUITE DISAPPOINTED with this recipe. After searching and searching allrecipes.com and reading most of the reviews, I thought for sure this would be an excellent french toast recipe for Christmas brunch. Boy was I sadly mistaken. It really was nothing special. I follow most users reviews in that I added the extra eggs and orange zest and also cutting the bread an inch thick. I let the dish sit overnight and by the time we baked it and ate it, the egg mixture had only soaked down to barely the top portion EVEN AFTER I pressed on the bread while pouring the egg mixture onto it. The pecan topping was ANOTHER DISAPPOINTMENT. It was sweet with a hint of orange something. I threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Casteel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. It is incredible! Very rich and very, very sweet with a heavenly aroma of oranges and cinnamon. Next time I will cut back on the sugar as it was a bit too decadent. But we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have tried this recipe many time, with great success. I was just wondering if I could substitute Pillsbury cinnamon rolls, instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barney Rooney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and doubled it for a larger group. The cooking time remained the same of about 35 minutes. It was super easy to prepare. I prepped it the night before, used 1.5 French baguettes, which soaked up all the liquid by morning. Let it sit out as directed for 20 minutes than baked it. The I flipped it over as I served the guests with the sticky gooey yummy side up. Everyone loved it! I'll definitely make it again when I'm hosting a large group for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Tastes great. Needs more pecans per my tastes. Doubled the amount called for and could still use a few more. If you like pecan pie, then you'll want to add extra pecans. Otherwise, it's just a sprinkling of nuts as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I liked the bits of orange peel in this, but it does need to be grated fine. The spice of it was just right. This is a nice offering for any brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Amazing! Everyone loved it! I flipped it over after baking, onto another pan. Recipe doesn't say to do this, but pictures show it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Such a great recipe! I edited it a little bit. For those who are wondering about putting the brown sugar mixture on the bottom, this is what I did. First off, I used 4 eggs, 3/4 cup oj, 1/2 cup milk, and 1/4 cup half and half. I then added the cinnamon and vanilla as well as a bit of nutmeg and allspice and the zest of an entire orange. I didn't use any white sugar. I then placed the bread in the pan and poured the mixture over the bread and let it sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning, before placing it in the oven, I mixed half a cup of brown sugar, 1/4 cup melted butter, 2 tbsp maple syrup, and 1/3 cup chopped pecans. I then spread this mixture over the top of each slice of bread and then put it in the oven for 45 min. It made a delicious brown sugar crust and tasted heavenly. Nothing stuck to the bottom and everyone loved it. Just a thought for those that worry about it sticking to the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States