Orange Pecan French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alli Shircliff
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I used all milk instead orange juice and challah bread. A crowd-pleaser for Mother's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was wonderful, but next time I would cut down on the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
My husband and I loved this dish. It reminded me somewhat of the PA Dutch sticky buns I grew up with. I halved the recipe, and used skim milk and 2 whole eggs. I baked it in a quiche dish. Served it with a bit of leftover Easter ham and fresh fruit salad. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tremont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is a fantastic make ahead recipe. The orange really makes this different than other toasts. Substituted honey for the corn syrup and it worked perfectly. This is perfect for a brunch or special morning dish. Huge hit for young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlebird6
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this for my mother and step-father for his birthday and they loved it! It was delicious and not too sweet. I made no changes from the recipe and followed the exact instructions. The only thing I would maybe do differently would be use staler bread (I used fresh)to give it a thicker consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Okay so I have to say I WAS QUITE DISAPPOINTED with this recipe. After searching and searching allrecipes.com and reading most of the reviews, I thought for sure this would be an excellent french toast recipe for Christmas brunch. Boy was I sadly mistaken. It really was nothing special. I follow most users reviews in that I added the extra eggs and orange zest and also cutting the bread an inch thick. I let the dish sit overnight and by the time we baked it and ate it, the egg mixture had only soaked down to barely the top portion EVEN AFTER I pressed on the bread while pouring the egg mixture onto it. The pecan topping was ANOTHER DISAPPOINTMENT. It was sweet with a hint of orange something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Casteel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. It is incredible! Very rich and very, very sweet with a heavenly aroma of oranges and cinnamon. Next time I will cut back on the sugar as it was a bit too decadent. But we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have tried this recipe many time, with great success. I was just wondering if I could substitute Pillsbury cinnamon rolls, instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barney Rooney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, and doubled it for a larger group. The cooking time remained the same of about 35 minutes. It was super easy to prepare. I prepped it the night before, used 1.5 French baguettes, which soaked up all the liquid by morning. Let it sit out as directed for 20 minutes than baked it. The I flipped it over as I served the guests with the sticky gooey yummy side up. Everyone loved it! I'll definitely make it again when I'm hosting a large group for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States