Orange Party Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
THIS CAKE IS MARVELOUS! SO MOIST AND FLUFFY AND THE ORANGE FLAVOR REALLY COMES THROUGH!! SO SIMPLE WHEN YOUR SHORT ON TIME! I DID ADD A LITTLE ORANGE ZEST TO MY BATTER.OUTSTANDING!! ANOTHER WONDERFUL CAKE RECIPE SAVED!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Berenger
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I'm not any sort of baker. Once every few years or so I try to make a great cake for my wife's birthday. This year I made this recipe because I wanted to try something we've never had. The recipe was super easy and very delicious. As someone else suggested I only used half of the vanilla and replaced it with orange extract. Also I didn't want to use a bundt pan for a birthday cake so I used two 9" round pans. Baked perfectly at 375 for 30 minutes. For the icing I used 1 tub (16 oz) of whipped topping mixed with 8 oz of sour cream, 3/4 tsp of orange extract, and 2 cups of confectioners sugar. Then topped with some candied orange slices. Turned out really well although if I ever make it again I might try a chocolate based frosting for contrasting flavors. Either way you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berenger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CINCASUE
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
What a wonderful cake! I changed a few things...1c. oil, 1c. orange juice and orange extract. Super moist, wonderful texture and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I have now made this recipe several different times with several different flavor combinations. White/orange, chocolate/orange, chocolate/raspberry, white/lemon. They are all delicious. The chocolate/raspberry turns out looking like a red velvet cake. The combination of the jello and extra liquids makes it very moist and flavorful. I have started using 2 tsp. vanilla and 2 tsp. extract the same flavor as the jello. That intensifies the fruit flavor a little. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I'm a pretty good cook, but my baking skills are remedial at best. I was looking for an easy good cake, and this delivered! This is a lightweigt, fluffy, yet very moist cake that was very easy to make. I used chocolate cake mix with the orange gelatin, simply becuase I like the taste of chocolate and orange together. Next time, I might use orange extract in place of the vanilla to intensify the orange flavor, but that's just personal preference. Great recipe... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I've made this several times. Used an oblong pan and iced it with orange cheese cheese frosting because of everyone's sweet tooth. It did great. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NotUrAvgChick
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I use a recipe similar to this, except I use Yellow cake mix w/ pudding in the mix. And I use 1 C Tropicana Orange Juice with lotsa pulp. Everyone loves it! You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I thought 4 teaspoons of vanilla sounded like too much, so I used one teaspoon of vanilla and one teaspoon of lemon extract. I thought the cake was delicious, but I am the only one who ate it. Maybe there were too many other goodies around during Christmas, but it simply did not appeal to the rest of my family. I would make it again and just bring it to my office to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States