Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
What a great recipe! I used more orange juice instead of the 1/2 c. water, and omitted the butter and used 1/2 c. non-fat plain yogurt instead. I also omitted the white sugar. These changes made the muffins very low in fat and calories, yet they were still nicely sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
What a great recipe! I did read the previous reviews and followed some of the posted advice, but I am thoroughly in love with these muffins! I used quick oats instead of rolled, and they seem to be fine for the recipe, and used 1 cup of Odwalla orange juice instead of the 1/2 oj and 1/2 cup water to soak the oats in, and I used 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda as suggested. I'm very pleased with the results. I baked them in a 8 mini-loaf pan rather than muffin tins, and the recipe made 8 perfectly sized mini loaves. I sprayed the heck out of the pans with Pam baking spray (includes flour) even though it was a non-stick pan, and the loaves popped right out, intact after cooling about 20 minutes. I also sprinkled chopped pecans over the top before baking, but they sank down into the batter during baking, which is just fine. They are a very, very tender muffin - slightly crumbly. I think it is the oatmeal that gives the muffins that texture, but I think it's great. I love the soft mouth feel. Although it has great orange flavor with the 1 cup of Odwalla OJ, next time I think I may add 1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla instead of all vanilla, and take it from there for even more intense orange flavor. Pecan is definitely the right nut to add to this recipe, if you want to add a nut. I omitted the raisens as we aren't big fans of them. These are super easy to make, and will be a staple at our house! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Long Crist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
The idea of the recipe was good, however, the baking soda is very strong tasting. Also, the muffins were extremely soft and broke as they were taken out of the tin. If you are going to make this recipe, I would suggest making these few adjustments: Baking soda decrease to 1/2 teaspoon and up the baking powder to 1-1/2 teaspoons. Also, add an additional 1/4 cup of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
I've made this recipe a few times and the muffins are so yummy they go very quickly. I brought them to work and had to print out this recipe for 3 people! my co-worker added raisins when she made them and they came out good too. I used "lots of pulp" orange juice for extra flavor. I also replaced the water with orange juice and I replaced half of the butter with applesauce, to save some fat. My kids ate them up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great for breakfast muffin. I used1/2 whole wheat flour,1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 butter, used all OJ, no water,added dried cranberrys and a couple of tablespoons of ground flax seeds. I will use a little less sugar next time since I added all OJ, they came out a little on the sweet side. They came out very moist and were not crumbly. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These were great! I had quick cooking oats, so I only soaked them in the orange juice/water mixture for 10 minutes and they turned out good. Also, for all those people that had so much trouble getting them out of the pan...when you use muffin paper cups there's no problems. Will definatly make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmanuelle
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
not bad... not as good as I thaught it would be. I used more orange juice and still the taste was too mild for me. I think you should also reduce the sugar quantity. It will do good for breakfast with tea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
These are the best muffins I have ever tasted. My husband is always asking me to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is my new favourite muffin! I did things a little bit differently: only added brown sugar, a few squirts of honey, substituted a 1/4 cup of butter for applesauce and added 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. The taste was fantastic. The actual orange flavour was quite mild, so next time I may add some zest/extract if I want more orange taste. Thanks and I'm going to make another batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
These had a nice flavor...they just did not rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States