Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Yummy recipe! I, like other reviewers, used all OJ and no water. I also added a couple tsps fresh orange zest and substituted the rasins for Chocolate Chips. Next time I make this recipe I think I might throw in some chopped pecans as well. I was a little nervous because the batter was quite liquidy, but they baked up very nicely. Thanks for this great recipe. I'll deffinetly be making it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
What a great recipe! I did read the previous reviews and followed some of the posted advice, but I am thoroughly in love with these muffins! I used quick oats instead of rolled, and they seem to be fine for the recipe, and used 1 cup of Odwalla orange juice instead of the 1/2 oj and 1/2 cup water to soak the oats in, and I used 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda as suggested. I'm very pleased with the results. I baked them in a 8 mini-loaf pan rather than muffin tins, and the recipe made 8 perfectly sized mini loaves. I sprayed the heck out of the pans with Pam baking spray (includes flour) even though it was a non-stick pan, and the loaves popped right out, intact after cooling about 20 minutes. I also sprinkled chopped pecans over the top before baking, but they sank down into the batter during baking, which is just fine. They are a very, very tender muffin - slightly crumbly. I think it is the oatmeal that gives the muffins that texture, but I think it's great. I love the soft mouth feel. Although it has great orange flavor with the 1 cup of Odwalla OJ, next time I think I may add 1/2 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp vanilla instead of all vanilla, and take it from there for even more intense orange flavor. Pecan is definitely the right nut to add to this recipe, if you want to add a nut. I omitted the raisens as we aren't big fans of them. These are super easy to make, and will be a staple at our house! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Long Crist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I really loved these!I did make a few small changes: used chocolate chips instead of sultanas, and doubled OJ / omitted water. For a stronger orange taste I added some grated orange zest. They came out great - very moist and differently from most muffins - even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Split, Split-Dalmatia, Croatia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
these had a great flavor, but I really had trouble with the crumbly nature - difficult to eat - not sure if I want to retry with some of the review suggestions !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My whole family and our guests liked these muffins. My substitutions: half of the white flour with whole wheat flour; orange extract instead of vanilla; and dried cranberries instead of raisins. I soaked the cranberries in boiling water for a few minutes, then drained them before adding them in. I'll be making them again this weekend, maybe with more oats this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These muffins are fantastic! Our absolute favorite. I am repeatedly asked for recipe! One change,we don't care for raisins so I substitute with chopped pecans. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Really good recipe. I used one whole fresh orange. Juiced it and added enough boiling water to make one cup total liquid and soaked the oatmeal in that. Removed the zest and added to the creamed butter and sugars...this gave it a really distinct orange flavor. The recipe doesn't specifically say to soften the butter, but I have a feeling that not doing so may be causing some of the texture and crumbling problems. I also thought these were better when served the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I made this for a snack for my daughter's preschool and the teachers and children loved these. They were so tasty and easy to make. I will do this again soon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These tasted good, but were too crumbly. I took everyone's suggestions about using all OJ instead of water & OJ, increasing baking powder and decreasing baking soda. I don't give it a higher rating b/c a majority of the muffins fell apart when I took them out. I didn't use lining cups and I greased my pans very well, but I shouldn't have to for a good muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These were great! I had quick cooking oats, so I only soaked them in the orange juice/water mixture for 10 minutes and they turned out good. Also, for all those people that had so much trouble getting them out of the pan...when you use muffin paper cups there's no problems. Will definatly make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States