Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These muffins had a nice orange flavor, not too sweet and very moist. I changes I made were applesauce instead of butter, and I used 1/2 c. of raw sugar instead of brown or white sugar. Also, I topped them with chopped walnuts which really made them good. Only suggestion is that there was too much baking soda flavour! Next time I will probably use 1 1/2 tsp. of baking powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These muffins were great! I entered them in an Oatmeal cooking contest and won 2nd place in the muffins and breads category. The muffins were pretty crumbly so I decided to make mini muffins and it worked out wonderfully. Also, baking them longer helped the muffins be less crumbly. I definately recommend this recipe for any meal of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
House full of people agree these are great! They have a great flavor, but if appearances are important, this one is not the best. The muffins turn out a little squat, not rising above the muffin papers. But yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great for breakfast muffin. I used1/2 whole wheat flour,1/2 apple sauce and 1/2 butter, used all OJ, no water,added dried cranberrys and a couple of tablespoons of ground flax seeds. I will use a little less sugar next time since I added all OJ, they came out a little on the sweet side. They came out very moist and were not crumbly. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
The flavor was really good, but the texture was a little off. They were kind of hard to eat without them totally falling apart, which counts when you have a two year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
good muffins. i used half light margarine and half vanilla yogurt and cut out half the white sugar. Next time i will probably cut out all of it. i also added half a cup of walnuts and added the raisons. I also put in 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
These are really good. My mom made them and left out the raisins. Really light and fluffy, with great flavor. I really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Absolutely delicious. My family loved these. Really moist and fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I made these last night because my husband wanted something citrussy and I wanted something healthy. I ommitted the nutmeg bc I didn't have any, ommitted the water, and used all juice that I squeezed from Navel oranges. I also used the zest from the 4 oranges I squeezed and left all the fresh pulp in the juice. I also used 100% whole wheat flour instead of the all-purpose. They were amazing! So fluffy, which I totally didn't expect from a muffin with oats and ww flour. They tasted SO good, and the orange flavor was just right, though WAY more than a 'hint' as the recipe description says, which was likely due to all the zest I included. They were just PERFECT, and pretty healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Yummy recipe! I, like other reviewers, used all OJ and no water. I also added a couple tsps fresh orange zest and substituted the rasins for Chocolate Chips. Next time I make this recipe I think I might throw in some chopped pecans as well. I was a little nervous because the batter was quite liquidy, but they baked up very nicely. Thanks for this great recipe. I'll deffinetly be making it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States