Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I halved the recipe to make 24 mini muffins. As written, not the best recipe. I made some adjustments: I used the zest and juice of 1 temple orange (extremely flavorful citrus!)omitted the water... it had a nice orange taste, but still an overall bland muffin. I added cinnamon and used freshly ground nutmeg. I made a litle crumb toping with pecans and brown sugar- still not much help despite all those flavor enhancers!. The texture gets 5 stars but the flavor brings it down to 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
try do 12 instead of 6 6 get dark outside before done inside otherwise excellent used carton OJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very light and fluffy. Not as sweet as other muffins so it made for a good morning muffin. Needs a little something of more substance inside. Maybe fruit chunks or dried apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These were very good..just wish they had more of an orange flavor. I also thought the texture reminded me of cornbread! My husband and I both liked this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Great recipe. I really enjoyed the orange flavour. I made a few changes though as suggested by others. I used 1 cup OJ, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/4 cup butter, and 1/4 cup apple sauce. they turned out really good. Next time I might add in some chocolate chips instead of the raisins (love chocolate orange flavour). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The muffins don't rise right but were very tasty. I think they need more flour. Most muffins I've made have at least 1 & 1/2 cups. I also added orange zest & cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Yummy! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I've been enjoying this for breakfast all week! I made it as a loaf (I like to pop a slice in the toaster to bring back that just-from-the-oven taste), and added zest from one orange to up the orange flavor. Also used nuts instead of raisins and 3/4 cup of flax seed meal to replace half of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very good base recipe. I made some changes... swapped canola oil for butter, used 3/4 brown sugar and no white sugar, added 1 tsp cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Because of the cinnamon,I couldn't really taste the orange but they were delicious -- like oatmeal raisin cookies in muffin form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
wow! really yummy, a new family favorite. The people at church like them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States