Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Wasn't all that impressed with these. They were a bit chewy and didn't rise very well. I was expecting more flavor and was left a bit disappointed. IMO, there are better muffins out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These muffins are fantastic! So moist and packed with flavor. Excellent! I'm going to try them sometime with raisins, cranberries or walnuts for added health benefits. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. Susan in Maryland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Very good, but mine did not rise. They were flat on the top. When my sister made them, they turned out perfect. Her's rose nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
MAGNIFICENT! I followed the recipe pretty much exact except fo these changes * adding one teaspoon of orange extract instead of vanilla and just a dash of vanilla. * used "quick oats" instead of rolled oates ( not sure of what the differance is) * and followed other peoples suggestions and used 1 cup of orange juice and ommited the water completely. * a dash of allspice They are very crumbly but no one minded because they were sooo delish! Very moist and melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
3 1/2 stars.... In order to review THIS recipe as written, I didn't change anything at all. (didn't add raisins) I enjoyed the flavor of these very much. However, my muffins didn't rise or hold together well. We had to eat them with a fork. Atleast they were very moist and tasty, but they were almost too moist. I do think the addition of orange zest would be nice, however I doubt I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made them almost as directed (following other reviewers' suggestion to decrease the baking soda, which was a good idea) and these muffins were disastrous. They did not hold together, breaking apart in my hand. The taste was orangey, but it was very close to a cornbread. My significant other also agreed it was a lot like Johnny cake. I was highly disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These muffins are so good! Moist and yummy. The orange flavor is very subtle. I did use 1/2 whole wheat, 1/2 white flour and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These came out beautifully. I followed the advice of some of the other reviewers and substituted apple sauce for 1/2 of the butter, added all OJ instead of water, used brown sugar and honey for sugars and baked in muffin baking cups which I sprayed generously. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I notice in the picture that the muffins do sink in the middle. This made people question me whether they were baked right through. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to improve on that. Other than that they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These turned out great. I made a few changes 1)replaced 1/3 c white suger with 1/8 c molasses (had some left over from the Holidays) 2) Added 1/2 tsp of orange zest 3) replace vanilla with orange extract 4) replaced raisins with 1/2 c dried mango
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbishop
Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States