Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This seems to be a good basic oatmeal muffin recipe. I did modify the recipe based on reviews. I used 1.5 tsp bakg powder and .5 tsp baking soda. Also, I used craisins instead of raisins, 1 cup OJ rather than 1/2 with water, used applesauce for half the butter, and added some coconut. Everyone loves them, but they are a bit on the sweet side, perhaps from the extra juice or the addition of coconut. I think I'll make these again, maybe not as much coconut (I didn't measure it, just dumped some in) and with a little less sugar. Nuts would be great, but we have allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I just made these. Changes I made: I added 1/2 cup craisins and a 1/2 cup coconut. I love the combo of orange/cranberry/coconut. I also used 1/2 tsp. pure almond extract and 1/2 tsp. pure orange extract in place of the vanilla. They required a much longer cook time. I had to cook them for a half hour and at 20 minutes, I turned my oven to 375. Although, I think my oven may run under temp. They did not rise much, but spread out over the pan. I may double the baking powder. They are sweet with the sweetened coconut, so I could have probably decreased the white sugar a bit, but I like sweet. They have an excellent flavor and texture, just wished they had better 'tops'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It is truly amazing.. Absolutely moist n soft. I made it into a loaf with whole wheat flour. I used only brown sugar n substituted raisins with half a cup of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These are delicious and moist muffins! After reading reviews, I used 1 cup of warmed o.j. and no water. I wish I didn't use that much o.j....strong orange flavor. I'm making them again and following the 1/2 cup o.j. and 1/2 water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Schena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good; second time I made them I cut the sugar in half and cut back on the butter; much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocelynd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I just made these muffins yesterday and I think they might be my new favourite! I read some of the reviews and made a few minor adjustments. 1) zested and juiced 3 large oranges, used juice to soak oats (almost 1c filled rest of cup with boiling water) add zest to batter for more orangey flavour 2) 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 all purpose, 3) 1/4c butter, 1/4c applesauce 4) used only 1/2c brown sugar, just eliminated white altogether 5) added about 1/8 and a splash extra milk to make up for the whole wheat flour (the first time I made them they were dry, this makes them super moist) 6)used dried whole cranberries instead of raisins. These were delicious, they are almost gone already. I will make them over and over again, and have shared the recipe with the couple of people I shared the muffins with. They loved them too! Thanks Doreen for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used 1 full cup of orange juice and heated it up in the microwave for 1 minute before soaking the oatmeal. Instead of raisins, I used 1 cup of frozen cranberries. And I topped the muffins with some sprinkled white sugar. These were amazing. Excellent flavour. Soft and moist. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Solid simple muffin. Reminded me of a grandma's muffin, not a crazy jam-packed Starbucks muffin. My only change was to do 50/50 white and whole wheat flour, as I'm trying to use it up. Added a nice additional healthy taste/texture. I added dried cranberries to mine and highly recommend it. UNlike other reviews I like the texture (moist but not too dense, light but not too fall-apart) and could taste the subtle orange juice taste (different than a strong extract or zest flavor). I recommend everyone have a thermometer inside their ovens and pre-heat thoroughly, also do as they say and use boiling water -- this will aid in rising. Don't over-mix the batter or it will get tough -- about ten turns of a mixing spoon and it should still be lumpy and have a few flour streaks. A nice, simple, wholesome old-fashioned muffin that you'd be happy to have for breakfast or a snack - not too sweet but just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KisstheCookKT
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Delicious! I made them a bit healthier by reducing the amount of sugar, used only a tbsp butter with 1/2 cup applesauce, added finely grated carrots and a couple handfuls of cranberries. My bf topped them with pecans for esthetics ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Rather then normal orange juice I peeled oranges and blended them, and also added fresh cranberries. Along with the nutmeg I added cinnamon. Turned out very yummy that way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States