Orange Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This seems to be a good basic oatmeal muffin recipe. I did modify the recipe based on reviews. I used 1.5 tsp bakg powder and .5 tsp baking soda. Also, I used craisins instead of raisins, 1 cup OJ rather than 1/2 with water, used applesauce for half the butter, and added some coconut. Everyone loves them, but they are a bit on the sweet side, perhaps from the extra juice or the addition of coconut. I think I'll make these again, maybe not as much coconut (I didn't measure it, just dumped some in) and with a little less sugar. Nuts would be great, but we have allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I just made these. Changes I made: I added 1/2 cup craisins and a 1/2 cup coconut. I love the combo of orange/cranberry/coconut. I also used 1/2 tsp. pure almond extract and 1/2 tsp. pure orange extract in place of the vanilla. They required a much longer cook time. I had to cook them for a half hour and at 20 minutes, I turned my oven to 375. Although, I think my oven may run under temp. They did not rise much, but spread out over the pan. I may double the baking powder. They are sweet with the sweetened coconut, so I could have probably decreased the white sugar a bit, but I like sweet. They have an excellent flavor and texture, just wished they had better 'tops'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
It is truly amazing.. Absolutely moist n soft. I made it into a loaf with whole wheat flour. I used only brown sugar n substituted raisins with half a cup of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These are delicious and moist muffins! After reading reviews, I used 1 cup of warmed o.j. and no water. I wish I didn't use that much o.j....strong orange flavor. I'm making them again and following the 1/2 cup o.j. and 1/2 water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Schena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good; second time I made them I cut the sugar in half and cut back on the butter; much better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocelynd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I just made these muffins yesterday and I think they might be my new favourite! I read some of the reviews and made a few minor adjustments. 1) zested and juiced 3 large oranges, used juice to soak oats (almost 1c filled rest of cup with boiling water) add zest to batter for more orangey flavour 2) 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 all purpose, 3) 1/4c butter, 1/4c applesauce 4) used only 1/2c brown sugar, just eliminated white altogether 5) added about 1/8 and a splash extra milk to make up for the whole wheat flour (the first time I made them they were dry, this makes them super moist) 6)used dried whole cranberries instead of raisins. These were delicious, they are almost gone already. I will make them over and over again, and have shared the recipe with the couple of people I shared the muffins with. They loved them too! Thanks Doreen for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara McKinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I used 1 full cup of orange juice and heated it up in the microwave for 1 minute before soaking the oatmeal. Instead of raisins, I used 1 cup of frozen cranberries. And I topped the muffins with some sprinkled white sugar. These were amazing. Excellent flavour. Soft and moist. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Solid simple muffin. Reminded me of a grandma's muffin, not a crazy jam-packed Starbucks muffin. My only change was to do 50/50 white and whole wheat flour, as I'm trying to use it up. Added a nice additional healthy taste/texture. I added dried cranberries to mine and highly recommend it. UNlike other reviews I like the texture (moist but not too dense, light but not too fall-apart) and could taste the subtle orange juice taste (different than a strong extract or zest flavor). I recommend everyone have a thermometer inside their ovens and pre-heat thoroughly, also do as they say and use boiling water -- this will aid in rising. Don't over-mix the batter or it will get tough -- about ten turns of a mixing spoon and it should still be lumpy and have a few flour streaks. A nice, simple, wholesome old-fashioned muffin that you'd be happy to have for breakfast or a snack - not too sweet but just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KisstheCookKT
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Delicious! I made them a bit healthier by reducing the amount of sugar, used only a tbsp butter with 1/2 cup applesauce, added finely grated carrots and a couple handfuls of cranberries. My bf topped them with pecans for esthetics ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KisstheCookKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Rather then normal orange juice I peeled oranges and blended them, and also added fresh cranberries. Along with the nutmeg I added cinnamon. Turned out very yummy that way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States