Orange Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was easy to make and came out very moist and crumbly. I used cinnamon instead of ginger b/c I didn't have any... it worked perfectly. You should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This recipe was great! After reading what others had written, I added an extra egg to make it a little more moist. That seemed to do the trick. It wasn't crumbly and didn't fall apart as I picked up a piece. I was a little iffy about adding the ginger because I don't normally like ginger, but decided to add it anyway. I'm glad I did. I loved the taste! I also didn't add the walnuts. It still didn't really rise very much. The texture reminded me of fudge brownies. I actually liked the texture like that. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
We added fresh cranberries because we had them and we subbed lemon zest as we had no actual oranges in the house. Also added an orange-liqueur and cream cheese frosting, which was delicious! But the cake is really good on its own and we didn't find it excessively crumbly, maybe because of the added moisture from the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This. Was. So. Good. I made it yesterday for the neighbors and they loved it! Definitely will make again. It's soooo perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlebabyturtle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
The flavor of this cake is very good, but it is crumbly which makes it hard to eat. I used cinnamon instead of ginger b/c another reviewer said they had and cinnamon sounded better to me than ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This was a very tasty, easy to make cake. I recommend it highly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very tastey but the texture was very crumbly. It fell apart as you tried to lift a piece from the pan. Very messy. I added 1/2 c. dried cranberries. Very good flavor, just didn't care for the way it crumbled apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
The batter was very think and hard to spread. The cake came out very dry and crumbly. It fell apart as I took it out of the pan. It didn't rise at all. The flavor was good, but the texture was horrible. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States