Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Good but not great. Orange flavor is subtle and muffins were a bit dry, but my picky hubby liked them. I baked at directed temperature and after about 19 minutes, the bottom tasted a bit burnt (looked a bit dark, but nothing to arouse suspicion of burning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I did half all purpose flour and half whole wheat increased the sugar to 3/4c added two spoonfuls of applesauce( to decrease the dryness others complained of) and a handful of craisins then added a struesel topping. Results....MMMMM! Two out of three kids agree :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I loved these!!! They were so easy to make and so good!!! Next time I will add cranberries or chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karlskrona, Blekinge, Sweden
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I did tweak the recipe a little after having read the other reviews. I added 2TBS more sugar, the zest from the whole orange, and in addition to the orange juice, I squeezed the juice of half an orange. I made mini muffins and baked for 18 min - wonderfully crispy top and soft center. I will make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I loved this recipe! quick and easy as well. Add a handful of dried cranberries to add a new dimension in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I can't say that these were a big rave. They really needed doctoring. I added even more zest and also some lemon zest as well. They baked nicely and are not really sweet. I think they would be a good breakfast muffin and that is about it due to the lack of sweetness and 'zing'. I rated it a '3' because they did bake up nicely and were easy to prepare. A nice recipe for breakfast if you want to do something a little special for guests and don't want anything very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
One of my favorite combinations of flavors is dark chocolate with oranges. Strangely, I enjoy the tangy, slightly sweet oranges against the bitter chocolate. This recipe, therefore, was the perfect pallet for me to play with. I added 2-3 tablespoons of 80% dark chocolate, chopped, to the batter. I then sprinkled each muffin top with pecan pieces and 1 teaspoon of sugar (1 tsp for all the muffins combined). Also, as I adore giant muffins, I used a jumbo muffin pan. Delicious served warm with fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I made these with dried cranberries and they came out a little dry - so the next time I added more OJ and they were perfect! It would also be good with cranberries & walnuts. I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maelee Byram

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
These muffins are great! Good for kids who won't eat breakfast. I added double the amount of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
These were ok, just not very sweet. I was hoping for a little more orange flavor. I followed the advice to add cranberries, which kept these from being very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States