Orange Meringue Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindie Dayhoff
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! Tradition at our house is late luncheon on New Year's Day and guests are asked, if willing, to bring a New recipe they've wanted to try but haven't - I've been wanting to try Orange Marange pie for a few years, so this year was my chance - it tastes and looks yummy! I even threw some orange zest into the marange topping, which was also a first for me! Thank you for sharing this recipe and helping me start the New Year off on a great note! Huzzah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindie Dayhoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
My orange pie is an orange "soup"! The bottom layer of the pie did not set. I followed this recipe very carefully, including step 2, which instructs you to cook the mixture until thick and bubbly "about 5 minutes" on medium heat. At the end of five minutes, mine wasn't at all thick, so I added five more minutes until the mixture had a least thickened a bit, but I mistakenly thought it would set in the oven or when it cooled. NOT SO. Those minutes on the stovetop were the only opportunity to thicken the bottom. Knowing this, I should have waited until the mixture had a good pudding texture, however long that took.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was SOOOOO good! Was worried about the filling as it wasn't thickening up like it was supposed to - took a look away from it to get my margarine cut up and when I turned back to the pot, it was ready! Patience is a virtue. Also, this is the first time I have made meringue. I had my metal bowl and my beaters for my mixer in the fridge overnight to ensure they were cold in time to make the meringue part. It took a long time to get the stiff peaks to form, and even then, I think maybe I should have beaten them even longer. Next time, I will keep the mixer on high speed the whole time since I think the problem might have been that I didn't incorporate enough air into the egg whites fast enough. I can't wait to make this again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I had a bunch of tangerines and oranges to use so I used all juice for my pie filling. It wasn't quite tangy enough for me so I added the juice of one lime at the end. When I make it again (and I will!) I'll definitely use orange and lemon. It set up great and is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kim806
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I thought it was too sour. I think the next time I will not use the orange segments and add a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim806

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Had a glut of oranges and tried this my husband doesn,t like lemon meringue pie but was back for seconds on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granada, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This turned out really good, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
OMG THis was a great hit at my dinner party tonite! For those of you who like a sweet but tart dessert, this is it. I didn't think it was difficult at all. I made it strictly according to the recipe. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Capitola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Made this for a potluck. It was one of the first desserts to go. Everyone loved it. Very fresh and different without being too way out there or weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Myriah Shumate Crimmins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States