Orange Marmalade Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
These soft-textured cookies were good, but not as loaded with flavor as I would have liked. I added some extra marmalade to the icing and in the future, I think I would add more to the cookie dough, as well as adding some orange extract to ramp up the flavor. They do spread out quite a bit, so be sure to leave enough space between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I rated 4 stars bc I made changes, but the cookie was very good! First off, I halved the recipe bc otherwise I would have had entirely too many cookies! I used homemade marmalade and added a bit extra so I could throw in a handful of oats (for texture). I opted not to frost them (gets messy with a 2 yr old). If I did frost them, I think I'd omit the sugar. My marmalade is pretty sweet on its own, and frosting would just put the cookie over the top. The yield was spot on for my small, rounded spoon full cookies. The result was a soft, pillowy cookie, more akin to a biscuit than a cake. Very addicting little things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Easy to make! Taste excellent! I made my cookies all uniform with scooper. They cooked evenly and to perfection! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
The texture was amaaaaazing. They were like tiny cakes! I give this recipe 5 stars for ease, texture, and flexibility. I can't get Smucker's here, and my marmalade was a bit bitter and also weak in flavor. I compensated by using extra marmalade. The cookies were very nice. They were not too sweet nor bitter, and the bitterness actually helped balance them out well. I made frosting, but I did not end up using it for these as I thought they were great by themselves. For a few batches, I sprinked a bit of turbinado sugar on top before baking to give them a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
These are almost a cake cookie and it's key to keep them small so they cook fully. I started too big and at that high temperature the outsides would start to get too dark before the insides finished cooking. Very tasty. I used a lemon marmalade instead of the orange, and I added a tsp of culinary lemon oil to punch up the flavor. (You could use extract or zest to the same effect.) In my version I used lemon juice in the icing and it made a wonderful tangy-sweet icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
These cookies were really good, with an almost creamy texture, and easy to make. But I gave them 4 starts instead of 5 because I wasn't crazy about the frosting. Try them plain - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These taste like sweet bisquits... I was so excited to make these but was really disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These really taste just like orange marmalade. They are pretty quick and easy to make. I liked the flavor but I wished they looked a little prettier. Maybe if I took more time I could get them to come out nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States