Orange Marmalade Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I liked the cake. A few comments: 1. I added more marmalade, closer to a cup, and the cake was quite moist- was careful not to overbake 2. I thought it was quite sweet, maybe less sugar or a less sweet marmalade would be better 3. I would decrease the amount of butter, will try again with less Overall a keeper! Love the spicy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
loved it will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
After reading the comments, I doubled the recipe, added orange juice instead of lemon as well as some orange zest and a dash of orange extract, made two square cakes stacked one on top of the other with a thin layer of orange marmalade in between and topped with the simple orange glaze recipe from this website. As most poster have mentioned, it does need a bit of tweaking, but a good basic recipe that can be modified in many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Excellent Recipe. I used mandarine marmelade and it was so good¡¡¡
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I read the reviews about there not being enough batter, so I cooked these in three 4" springform pans (worked out perfectly) that I recently bought instead of a bundt pan. The texture on this cake is very much like a traditional banana bread, and it is very moist (I made sure not to overcook it). There is next to no orange flavor (and I even added the zest from one orange) except when you bite into a piece of the orange rind from the marmalade. That being said, I would add orange juice rather than lemon juice and maybe even a bit of orange extract. Drizzled an orange-flavored icing over the top and sprinkled with orange zest. Just needs some tweaking, this is a quite good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I doubled the batter as suggested by others, and this does nicely. If you do this, then I would reduce the oven temp to 325 and bake longer. I started the cake out at 350 and within a half an hour noticed that the edges were browning too much. So I reduced the temp. I would like to add that I made this batter per the recipe, and this cake can be quite dry! I had leftover Orange Marmalade from my Christmas gift giving and thought this would be a great recipe to try. Not as sweet as I thought it would be, but if you do attempt this one, a simple syrup poured over the cake could make it a bit less dry. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
tastes more like a spice cake than an orange cake, but tasty none the less. I served with an orange icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
LOVED IT! I made this cake in a 8x8 pan so I could bake it in my toaster oven instead.(trying to save energy) And I substituted the white sugar with splenda granulated sugar and it tastes great. Not a lot of orange flavor but that was ok for me. And the smell was incredible. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a great recipe for special occasions. I, personally, left out the chopped walnuts because my kids can be picky eaters when it comes to nuts. And I made an orange syprup(1 cup orange juice with 1/4 cup sugar), poked holes in cake and poured over top. Then I iced with a cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Delicous cake, but it stuck to my non-stick Nordic Ware bundt pan even after greasing and flouring. Will make it in a removable rim tube pan next time. The recipe should be increased by 50% to make a decent sized cake. I used a confectioners sugar/lemon juice/orange peel glaze, which complemented it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States