Orange Marmalade Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Lynne & guests like, family doesn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were really great! I had a jar of orange marmalade I needed to use, and this was perfect, even if you do not like orange marmalade. I did substitute 1/2 cup of the flour for oats. Next time I will double the recipe and cover the top, but it is fine just dobbed on the top, I pressed the bottom crust in. Oh and I cooked this 30 munutes because I used a glass baking dish..Yummy will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I was looking for something different and quick to celebrate the (FINAL!) arrival of fall. This was quick and easy. For those who had trouble with the dough, I just took my time and gently pressed into the bottom of the pan and crumbled the reminder over the marmalade. I used store-bought marmalade, but I found it too sweet. I might try using homemade kumquat marmalade, or even sliced apples - kind of apple-pie-like . . . Anyway, the cookie part was good - light and not too sweet. This is a recipe that I think would be fun to experiment on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
These were good. Even my boyfriend who wasn't impressed with the recipe, LOVED them. Recipe calls for 1/4 tsp cloves. I am not a big fan of cloves and may consider using only 1/8 tsp the next time. Once cooled, I sprinkled the bars with powdered sugar for added sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
These bars were very dry and crumbled apart as soon as I cut them apart after cooling. The cookie part was very strong I might have liked the cookie alone without the marmalade but I didn't like the cookie and marmalade together, way too sweet. Will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I have been a chef for a long time and these were a waste of ingrediants and they were so dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I made them and thought the spices are too strong tasting. Next time I will omit the cinnamon and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is a great recipe I wouldn't change it much but I didn't have any clove so I put in nutmeg. It tasted great! Also it was a bit dry so I added a some squeezed oranges and also a splash of milk. Just try it. This recipe I agree could be great with anything but the orange marmalade is best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I wanted to make something with orange marmalade, and when I read that these bars "go great with coffee", I decided to give it a go. I made minor adjustments--used 1 cup of flour and 0.5 cup of instant oats, and grated whole cloves instead of ground cloves--and the bars turned out nicely. I think I might omit the cloves next time, or just use less. The almond flavouring in the crust is very nice. Unlike some other reviewers' experiences, I did not find the dough hard to manage; I just pressed the bottom layer firmly in the bottom of the dish and crumbled the remaining mixture for the top layer to evenly cover most of the marmalade (there were some gaps). Then, I pressed down lightly on top with a spatula. In the oven, the top layer spread out and covered the marmalade completely. By the way, the bars do go very well with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS, I DECIDED TO CHANGE THE RECIPE, BY VERY LITTLE. I CHANGED THE SERVING AMOUNT FROM 12 TO 24 . INSTEAD OF 3 CUPS OF FLOUR , I USED 2 CUPS OF FLOUR AND 1 CUP OF OATS. I PRESSED DOWN THE FIRST HALF OF THE FLOUR/OAT MIXTURE INTO THE BOTTOM OF A GREASED 9" X 9" PAN, AND USED A MIXTURE OF HALF ORANGE MARMALADE AND APRICOT PRESERVES. WITH THE REMAINING FLOUR MIXTURE, I DROPPEED TEASPOONS OF THE DOUGH ONTO THE FRUIT LAYER. THIS WAY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ROLLING OUT THE DOUGH, IT FILLS IN AS IT BAKES. I BAKED IT FOR 30 MINUTES AND WHEN IT CAME OUT OF THE OVEN, I DID A VERY LIGHT DUSTING OF CINNAMON SUGAR. WHEN COMPLETELY COOLED, I SIFTED A FINE DUSTING OF CONFECTIONERS SUGER ON TOP. HOPEFULLY, THIS WILL HELP THOSE WHO WERE HAVING A HARD TIME WITH THE TOP LAYER. I BAKE EVERYDAY AND SEND THE "GOODIES" OFF TO WORK WITH MY HUSBAND. IN THE EVENING I ALWAYS ASK HOW THEY WENT OVER AND TO THESE THE ANSWER WAS "GREAT".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States