Orange Marmalade Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS, I DECIDED TO CHANGE THE RECIPE, BY VERY LITTLE. I CHANGED THE SERVING AMOUNT FROM 12 TO 24 . INSTEAD OF 3 CUPS OF FLOUR , I USED 2 CUPS OF FLOUR AND 1 CUP OF OATS. I PRESSED DOWN THE FIRST HALF OF THE FLOUR/OAT MIXTURE INTO THE BOTTOM OF A GREASED 9" X 9" PAN, AND USED A MIXTURE OF HALF ORANGE MARMALADE AND APRICOT PRESERVES. WITH THE REMAINING FLOUR MIXTURE, I DROPPEED TEASPOONS OF THE DOUGH ONTO THE FRUIT LAYER. THIS WAY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ROLLING OUT THE DOUGH, IT FILLS IN AS IT BAKES. I BAKED IT FOR 30 MINUTES AND WHEN IT CAME OUT OF THE OVEN, I DID A VERY LIGHT DUSTING OF CINNAMON SUGAR. WHEN COMPLETELY COOLED, I SIFTED A FINE DUSTING OF CONFECTIONERS SUGER ON TOP. HOPEFULLY, THIS WILL HELP THOSE WHO WERE HAVING A HARD TIME WITH THE TOP LAYER. I BAKE EVERYDAY AND SEND THE "GOODIES" OFF TO WORK WITH MY HUSBAND. IN THE EVENING I ALWAYS ASK HOW THEY WENT OVER AND TO THESE THE ANSWER WAS "GREAT".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I need a recipe to get rid of an excess of marmalade. This was a very good choice. It is very quick to assemble, has common ingredients and cooks rapidly. I have made it twice. I eliminated the spices for the second batch because I couldn't taste the marmalade. Very good recipe. It would be good with any flavor preserves. Oh, and don't cut back on the marmalade; the moisture is needed. Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Wonderful! And they ARE great with coffee. I almost polished the whole pan off myself. I tried these with orange marmalade and later with apple-cinnamon jelly. Both were great! I think it would also be good with apricot jam, raspberry, or peach--though I think the orange marmalade was my favorite. As mentioned in an earlier review, the dough is a little stiff and hard to spread. So I rolled out each layer of dough with my rolling pin a bit to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Very yummy, and moist. I didn't have enough marmalade, but I'd already pumped up my three year old about making them, so we used 1/2 marmalade and 1/2 jam, and they still turned out great! The almond extract gives them a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I wanted to make something with orange marmalade, and when I read that these bars "go great with coffee", I decided to give it a go. I made minor adjustments--used 1 cup of flour and 0.5 cup of instant oats, and grated whole cloves instead of ground cloves--and the bars turned out nicely. I think I might omit the cloves next time, or just use less. The almond flavouring in the crust is very nice. Unlike some other reviewers' experiences, I did not find the dough hard to manage; I just pressed the bottom layer firmly in the bottom of the dish and crumbled the remaining mixture for the top layer to evenly cover most of the marmalade (there were some gaps). Then, I pressed down lightly on top with a spatula. In the oven, the top layer spread out and covered the marmalade completely. By the way, the bars do go very well with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I did not enjoy these bars very much. First of all, the dough was really stiff and was difficult to manipulate. The recipe didn't make for much dough, in order to correctly fill my brownie pan, I needed to make a double batch. Then when the whole thing came out of the oven, it fell, and was pretty mushy on the bottom. Not very easy to cut and serve. The flavor of the marmelade goes well with the cookie-style dough; I think the recipe needs to work though to make the final product easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These were really great! I had a jar of orange marmalade I needed to use, and this was perfect, even if you do not like orange marmalade. I did substitute 1/2 cup of the flour for oats. Next time I will double the recipe and cover the top, but it is fine just dobbed on the top, I pressed the bottom crust in. Oh and I cooked this 30 munutes because I used a glass baking dish..Yummy will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I have been a chef for a long time and these were a waste of ingrediants and they were so dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
A complete disaster. I'm not the world's greatest baker but I know how to read, and having followed the recipe exactly, there was no way it made enough dough to form two 8 x 8 layers. I didn't have enough time to make more, so I just went with what I had. Anyway, the end result was burned, dry and dense. The flavor was ok but, other than that, this was a total waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was a good recipe and pretty easy to prepare. I used a previous recommendation and rolled out the layer of batter that went on the top. I would love to try this with blueberry and rasperry marmalade as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States