Orange Marmalade Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Very yummy, and moist. I didn't have enough marmalade, but I'd already pumped up my three year old about making them, so we used 1/2 marmalade and 1/2 jam, and they still turned out great! The almond extract gives them a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I did not enjoy these bars very much. First of all, the dough was really stiff and was difficult to manipulate. The recipe didn't make for much dough, in order to correctly fill my brownie pan, I needed to make a double batch. Then when the whole thing came out of the oven, it fell, and was pretty mushy on the bottom. Not very easy to cut and serve. The flavor of the marmelade goes well with the cookie-style dough; I think the recipe needs to work though to make the final product easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I need a recipe to get rid of an excess of marmalade. This was a very good choice. It is very quick to assemble, has common ingredients and cooks rapidly. I have made it twice. I eliminated the spices for the second batch because I couldn't taste the marmalade. Very good recipe. It would be good with any flavor preserves. Oh, and don't cut back on the marmalade; the moisture is needed. Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Wonderful! And they ARE great with coffee. I almost polished the whole pan off myself. I tried these with orange marmalade and later with apple-cinnamon jelly. Both were great! I think it would also be good with apricot jam, raspberry, or peach--though I think the orange marmalade was my favorite. As mentioned in an earlier review, the dough is a little stiff and hard to spread. So I rolled out each layer of dough with my rolling pin a bit to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
These turned out to be quite fruity, with a nice crunchiness to the crust. When I patted half of the dough on the pan bottom, I had to work to get it to cover, and was afraid I would wish I had made more, but after baking, I feel it came out just right. I made half with marmalade and the other half with another jelly, since my kids are not fans of marmalade. Both were tasty. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was a good recipe and pretty easy to prepare. I used a previous recommendation and rolled out the layer of batter that went on the top. I would love to try this with blueberry and rasperry marmalade as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I would have given this recipe 5 stars fo the taste but would give it a 3 for directions ~ so it's a 4. The taste is great but not not a summer dessert because it reminds me of Fall harvest, strong cinnamon/clove flavor adds for that fall touch. The directions, not so good because this is not a dessert dough but more like cookie, roll up in a ball dough. So I followed the tip from another review of rolling out the top half before putting it on the marmalade. Also warmed the marmalade a bit in the microwave for easy spreading. Will try this with other preserves for a summer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
A complete disaster. I'm not the world's greatest baker but I know how to read, and having followed the recipe exactly, there was no way it made enough dough to form two 8 x 8 layers. I didn't have enough time to make more, so I just went with what I had. Anyway, the end result was burned, dry and dense. The flavor was ok but, other than that, this was a total waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
AFTER READING THE OTHER REVIEWS, I DECIDED TO CHANGE THE RECIPE, BY VERY LITTLE. I CHANGED THE SERVING AMOUNT FROM 12 TO 24 . INSTEAD OF 3 CUPS OF FLOUR , I USED 2 CUPS OF FLOUR AND 1 CUP OF OATS. I PRESSED DOWN THE FIRST HALF OF THE FLOUR/OAT MIXTURE INTO THE BOTTOM OF A GREASED 9" X 9" PAN, AND USED A MIXTURE OF HALF ORANGE MARMALADE AND APRICOT PRESERVES. WITH THE REMAINING FLOUR MIXTURE, I DROPPEED TEASPOONS OF THE DOUGH ONTO THE FRUIT LAYER. THIS WAY YOU DO NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT ROLLING OUT THE DOUGH, IT FILLS IN AS IT BAKES. I BAKED IT FOR 30 MINUTES AND WHEN IT CAME OUT OF THE OVEN, I DID A VERY LIGHT DUSTING OF CINNAMON SUGAR. WHEN COMPLETELY COOLED, I SIFTED A FINE DUSTING OF CONFECTIONERS SUGER ON TOP. HOPEFULLY, THIS WILL HELP THOSE WHO WERE HAVING A HARD TIME WITH THE TOP LAYER. I BAKE EVERYDAY AND SEND THE "GOODIES" OFF TO WORK WITH MY HUSBAND. IN THE EVENING I ALWAYS ASK HOW THEY WENT OVER AND TO THESE THE ANSWER WAS "GREAT".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I wanted to make something with orange marmalade, and when I read that these bars "go great with coffee", I decided to give it a go. I made minor adjustments--used 1 cup of flour and 0.5 cup of instant oats, and grated whole cloves instead of ground cloves--and the bars turned out nicely. I think I might omit the cloves next time, or just use less. The almond flavouring in the crust is very nice. Unlike some other reviewers' experiences, I did not find the dough hard to manage; I just pressed the bottom layer firmly in the bottom of the dish and crumbled the remaining mixture for the top layer to evenly cover most of the marmalade (there were some gaps). Then, I pressed down lightly on top with a spatula. In the oven, the top layer spread out and covered the marmalade completely. By the way, the bars do go very well with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States