Orange Marmalade Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
A complete disaster. I'm not the world's greatest baker but I know how to read, and having followed the recipe exactly, there was no way it made enough dough to form two 8 x 8 layers. I didn't have enough time to make more, so I just went with what I had. Anyway, the end result was burned, dry and dense. The flavor was ok but, other than that, this was a total waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I would have given this recipe 5 stars fo the taste but would give it a 3 for directions ~ so it's a 4. The taste is great but not not a summer dessert because it reminds me of Fall harvest, strong cinnamon/clove flavor adds for that fall touch. The directions, not so good because this is not a dessert dough but more like cookie, roll up in a ball dough. So I followed the tip from another review of rolling out the top half before putting it on the marmalade. Also warmed the marmalade a bit in the microwave for easy spreading. Will try this with other preserves for a summer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was a good recipe and pretty easy to prepare. I used a previous recommendation and rolled out the layer of batter that went on the top. I would love to try this with blueberry and rasperry marmalade as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
These turned out to be quite fruity, with a nice crunchiness to the crust. When I patted half of the dough on the pan bottom, I had to work to get it to cover, and was afraid I would wish I had made more, but after baking, I feel it came out just right. I made half with marmalade and the other half with another jelly, since my kids are not fans of marmalade. Both were tasty. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Wonderful! And they ARE great with coffee. I almost polished the whole pan off myself. I tried these with orange marmalade and later with apple-cinnamon jelly. Both were great! I think it would also be good with apricot jam, raspberry, or peach--though I think the orange marmalade was my favorite. As mentioned in an earlier review, the dough is a little stiff and hard to spread. So I rolled out each layer of dough with my rolling pin a bit to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I need a recipe to get rid of an excess of marmalade. This was a very good choice. It is very quick to assemble, has common ingredients and cooks rapidly. I have made it twice. I eliminated the spices for the second batch because I couldn't taste the marmalade. Very good recipe. It would be good with any flavor preserves. Oh, and don't cut back on the marmalade; the moisture is needed. Thanks Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I did not enjoy these bars very much. First of all, the dough was really stiff and was difficult to manipulate. The recipe didn't make for much dough, in order to correctly fill my brownie pan, I needed to make a double batch. Then when the whole thing came out of the oven, it fell, and was pretty mushy on the bottom. Not very easy to cut and serve. The flavor of the marmelade goes well with the cookie-style dough; I think the recipe needs to work though to make the final product easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Very yummy, and moist. I didn't have enough marmalade, but I'd already pumped up my three year old about making them, so we used 1/2 marmalade and 1/2 jam, and they still turned out great! The almond extract gives them a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States