Orange Mango Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This goes really well with white rice. The sauce is a little too sour for my tastes. I think half a lemon might be enough. Easy dish to whip up for a tasty weeknight dinner nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My family thought this recipe was to die for. I had extra mango sauce left over so I used it on salmon fillets and that was a huge his also. I have added this to my recipe box - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hutchlm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Disclaimer - I don't know how to follow a recipe without making changes - even the first time through. So I used chicken thighs instead of breasts - will try the breast next time and see if it is as good. Instead of seasoning the chicken with dried thyme, I dumped a few teaspoons of fresh thyme into the sauce just before taking it off the heat. I used grated frozen ginger - not sure how much. And I didn't have a fresh lemon, so I used about 1/4 cup of lemon juice. Oh, and for convenience I used Trader Joe's frozen mango - probably used more than the recipe calls for, but I cut the pieces smaller. The result was a bit more tart than I anticipated with all the mango, but it was bursting with flavor. Can't wait to eat the left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this exactly like the recipe stated and didn't care for the sauce. I thought the mango absorbed all of the fresh lemon juice and so I overpowered all mango flavor. The chicken was good though and the sauce would have probably been better minus the lemon because I think the mango, cinnamon and ginger would have been good together. I could maybe see it over rice and minus the lemon juice, but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
After reading many of the reviews, I made some changes to this recipe that worked for my family. I cut up a zucchini and sauteed it with some crushed red pepper flakes in the olive oil. When they were lightly browned I removed them from the pan and added the chicken, which I had sliced into strips. I also seasoned the chicken before adding it to the pan. When the chicken was done, I added it to the zucchini. I used a large Meyer lemon and two mangoes along with the orange juice, ginger and cinnamon to make the sauce as well as a quarter of a sweet onion, thinly sliced. When the sauce had thickened slightly I returned the zucchini and chicken to the skillet and used a small amount of cornstarch dissolved in water to further thicken the sauce. Served over basmati rice, it was really tasty - not too sweet and with a little kick from the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was very easy, fast and delicious! I used allspice instead of cinnamon as suggested in one review. I served it with rice and Mango Salsa also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My husband and boys (14 and 9) really liked this. One son LOVED it, the other one does not like mango but ate the chicken without the sauce and said he liked it. I used about 2 1/2 mangos instead of 1, partly because I love mango, and partly because I had a batch that were almost overripe. I did not use cinnamon, just ginger, and lightly browned the chicken in butter before adding the OJ (skipped the lemon too, the OJ accomplished the same thing). I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was a good, easy recipe. After cooking the chicken, I added some finely chopped red onion and jalapeno pepper to the pan along with the fruit and juice. It gave the recipe a bit of savoriness that I think it needed, and some great heat. I also used freshly grated ginger, instead of ground ginger. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Easy to prepare very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States