Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by glopsey
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I made it vegan by: using egg replacer, vegan butter, and vegan white sugar. I also made the glaze with pineapple juice instead of orange and let it reduce a bit (I still used orange in the loaf itself). This recipe makes 11 regular sized muffins. Highly recommended. If you make this into muffins bake until brown (it won't take an hour, keep an eye on it!). Grease it up good before pouring into the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glopsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I should have heeded the reviews about the loaf being dried out and taken this out of the oven after 45mins. The orange flavor is defined and I will certainly try it again but take it out earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noahwilde
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I sooooo Loved this Loaf....I just finish making it and half is gone......Thank you for this great recipe. I didn't add the nuts. (Not a fan of nuts.) Reallly realllllyyyyy Great.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noahwilde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was delicious and moist. I reduced the sugar by a third and increased the amount of O.J. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. The glaze keeps the loaf really moist. Just stick the loaf with a toothpick when it comes out and then the syrup will go right into the bread and around the sides. I have stuck this in the freezer in sections and take it out for an occassional weekend treat. It stays moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Made for a group of Chinese friends. They LOVED them...and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very good. The glaze I would actually call a syrup, but I'm glad I didn't skip that step! I skewered the top of the loaves and the glaze went deep down into the loaves, adding a lot of moisture. I do think they would be dry without the glaze. I mention everything in plural, because I doubled the recipe and it turned out great. Thank you Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made this tonight for dessert. This is really good!!!! My husband loved it. I included the nuts, and the orange zest really made the taste of orange come out strong. Very moist, I baked for exactly 1-hour. Defenately a keeper in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
A lovely twist on a citrus bread. Didn't need the glaze (we don't care for this type bread if it is too sweet) but added more orange rind and a handful of dried cranberries really make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
It's barely the beginning of the fall baking season and I'm already a little weary of the pumpkin, cinnamon, maple and other typical fall baked treats. This was a refreshing break. As this was baking I already decided it was worth it for the aroma alone - SO fragrant of fresh orange. It must have been a combination of the recipe itself, my adding two tablespoons of vegetable oil to ensure a moist cake, and cutting back on the baking time by several minutes that I did not experience the dryness other reviewers reported. This cake is soft, with a dense but tender crumb, very light, buttery (I did use butter rather than the margarine called for) and prominently, pleasantly orange. The term "glaze" in the recipe is misleading, as this is really not a glaze at all. It's actually a flavored simple syrup that soaks into the cake, infusing it with added moisture and flavor and should not be skipped or altered. A delightful change from heavily spiced, heavily frosted or overly sweet treats. Delicious, satisfying and very pretty too. Whether or not the the cake would turn out as good and moist without the 2 T. of oil I added, I'm not sure - what I do know is that if you add it, you won't be sorry. And be careful not to overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I've made this bread many times and I think it is super. I always follow the recipe exactly with no complaints as it is written. I think the glaze is supposed to be thin. I pour the hot glaze over the hot loaf and just let it sit in the pan. Eventually the glaze absorbs into the cake, leaving a moist, delicious bread. Im happy with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States