Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
A pleasant and welcome surprise. The only change I made was to use butter rather than margarine and cut back a bit on the sugar (3/4 cup). I tried it with and without the glaze and while it is five-star worthy to me without the glaze, adding it takes the orange flavor over the top and makes it really special. Walnuts are delicious but not necessary, I'd try swapping them for chocolate chips if you are serving this to someone with a nut allergy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Loved the flavor. I didn't change anything. The bread was a bit crumbly but really not a problem. I would definitely make this again. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Its a wonderful orange flavored loaf. I substituted 1 cup all purpose flour to 1cup whole wheat flour and reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. I used vegetable oil instead of margarine and added just 1tbsp of butter for flavor. I increased the orange juice to 1/2 cup and 2tbsp and skipped the nuts( daughter does not like these) The result was a wonderful orange loaf. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dehradun, Uttaranchal, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Thanks for the fantastic recipe for Orange Loaf, Carol~!! I agree that using butter is better for bringing out the orange taste. Besides, I have added an extra of 2T olive oil, as suggested by another reviewer, which made the loaf moistened beautifully. For the "glaze", it really helps to bring an additional orange flavor and helps lighten up the surface of the loaf. Great idea for the glaze!! This recipe will be used in the rest of my life, for SURE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam1128

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I likes it, but my husband did'nt care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
The recipe was quick and easy, as advertised, and tasted awesome. I had a lot of really icky oranges I needed to get rid of, and this did the trick. A couple of notes: 1. I live in Colorado Springs, so adding more flour is a must, the center of this bread sank, and it was done about 20 minutes earlier than the recipe called for. I narrowly escaped it being burned. 2. From previous experience, do NOT use white sugar for the glaze. Glazes require powdered sugar in order to make it thick, and it needs A LOT of powdered sugar. I had probably 2 cups of glaze. But this recipe was awesome, and don't be afraid to add more zest than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Glaze tip: Poke holes with a toothpick all over the loaf before drizzling glaze on warm loaf. This will distribute the glaze into the loaf as well as on top. Wrap in foil for 24 hours (or not) to let the flavor drench the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This is the third time ive made this, and cant get the top to stay up. Im baking at an elevation of 9000 feet and i've done the usual high altitude stuff like more liquid, higher temp, and less leavening agent. but alas it never rounds off, always sunken in the middle. other than that everyone loves the taste and cant get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elcheftimo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States