Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Wonderful. I did add the 2 Tbsp of oil, and used pecans instead of walnuts (it's what I had on hand). The flavor was excellent and the bread was very moist. I baked mine in four 1 lb mini-loaf pans (sharing keeps it off my hips, lol), on convection bake at 325° for 35 minutes. Will definitely be making again, probably next week, as Holiday gifts. I think I will sneak some Gran Marnier into the simple syrup/glaze. Between the heating to melt the sugar and the fact that it's poured onto oven hot loaves (which I left in the pan until tasting/packaging as treats) and allowed to cool uncovered, I think all the alcohol will evaporate and it will taste divine. I'll come back and let you know how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this for a dinner party I was invited to last week. Skipped the nuts and the glaze, made a toffee instead and put it in the bottom before baking the cake. The group loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made a few changes but it was fabulous! the comments about the glaze were discouraging so I didn't make it. Since I had no oranges, I used 1 tsp of orange zest. I also added some cinnamon to enhance the orange flavor. This is a new favorite of mine and I will definitely be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this recipe to use up some orange juice I had in the fridge. I did add 2 T. of vegetable oil as suggested, but other than that I followed the recipe. I thought the glaze made part of the top a little soggy, but it still tasted good. My biggest disappointment was that the finished loaf was so flat and didn’t have any dome at all. Since I’m not sure how to “fix” that, I probably won’t make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Some reviewers said this was on the dry side, so I took the advise of one and added vegetable oil to the mix. I also skipped the glaze and sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on the top before baking. A very nice change for a quick bread that we enjoyed. Thank you for sharing, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
A pleasant and welcome surprise. The only change I made was to use butter rather than margarine and cut back a bit on the sugar (3/4 cup). I tried it with and without the glaze and while it is five-star worthy to me without the glaze, adding it takes the orange flavor over the top and makes it really special. Walnuts are delicious but not necessary, I'd try swapping them for chocolate chips if you are serving this to someone with a nut allergy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Loved the flavor. I didn't change anything. The bread was a bit crumbly but really not a problem. I would definitely make this again. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Its a wonderful orange flavored loaf. I substituted 1 cup all purpose flour to 1cup whole wheat flour and reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. I used vegetable oil instead of margarine and added just 1tbsp of butter for flavor. I increased the orange juice to 1/2 cup and 2tbsp and skipped the nuts( daughter does not like these) The result was a wonderful orange loaf. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dehradun, Uttaranchal, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States