Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2000
This bread tasted good however I would only use half of the glaze the next time I bake this orange loaf. I may even try sprinkling powdered sugar on top instead of the glaze. I didn't really care for the glaze and thought that the bread could be fine without it but my husband said it needed a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
I really enjoyed this quick bread. It has a really strong and rich orange taste which I loved. I even tried it with chopped pecans mixed in the batter. It was great! This is a great recipe to try for those who love quick breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
Not sure about kid friendly but husband friendly *S*... Love the loaf and the orange flavor! Didn't use the glaze. We like cream cheese frosting and I will try that next time! Made the loaf twice now and WILL be trying it again... THANK YOU FOR POSTING IT! Lorraine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
One of the excellent recipes. I've never before tried anything with Orange. This recipe is to be kept for good. Glaze was just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Every Christmas for as long as I can remember, my mother makes orange loaves and delivers them to the neighbours. She was improvising on another loaf recipe, though, and most often the loaves would fall, although they tasted great! I took her recipe, and came on-line. Lo and behold if this orange loaf isn't EXACTLY the same as mom's, except for a bit of extra flour, which is all that was needed to keep it nice and rounded on the top. I emailed mom with the recipe, which she used this year. Thanks for helping improve on one of my favourite Christmas traditions! As for the glaze, Mom's loaf only called for half of this one, and I thought the amounts listed here would make way too much. I made 2 loaves at once---one with only half the glaze(like mom's), and one as this recipe calls for. I liked this one the best. It made the loaf nice and moist. Just be sure to let the loaf sit as required to let the glaze soak in. Thanks again-- this is a great loaf, and I've made 8 of them to give away in the last month, following in my mother's footsteps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I am a novice baker and i loved Carol's recipe. Easy and quick! Thanks Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This is a very good and EASY pound cake recipe. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and the cake was perfect. Next time I will use a smaller loaf pan than called for in the recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Simply delicious, and even better the next day, though it didn't last longer than that. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. YUMMY! I added a little orange food coloring just for fun. I would check this just before an hour next time. Also, I made this for a shower where the theme was tropical and omitted the sauce that goes on top so that it would match the other breads we had. So, I can't wait to try it again with that delicious-sounding sauce!!! Very, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HHMAKER3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I thought that this was more like an orange pound cake than a bread. When I poured the glaze on I thought it was going to be too much, but it was fine. You really could not see the glaze but it added a lot of flavor.I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States