Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This bread was plenty sweet, even though I used a tad less sugar than called for. Nice and orange-y. It was pretty dry though, and the glaze wasn't much of a glaze. Altogether, it was a solid recipe, but I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was ok; it had a good, orange citrusy flavor. But as others have said, it's on the dry side and crumbly. I even added in an extra 1/4 cup of OJ, but I think what's wrong with this recipe is there is no oil in it. I've never made a quick bread that didn't call for some amount of oil. I doubt I'll make this again, but thought I'd throw this opinion out there - try adding in 1/4-1/3 cup of oil and see if you get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I didn't want to use margarine, so I've added about 1/3 cup extra orange juice and a dash of cinnamon. But I think I overbaked it, it was so dry. And the glaze, I was so worried about the glaze being runny so I cooked it too long and ended up with candied glaze. Which my husband loved it, by the way. Next time, I'll just have to watch my baking time. But overall, it was pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I had really high hopes for this. The smell while it was baking was intoxicating; pure heaven. Well, it turned out drier than I had hoped. I would have thought with the syrup and all it would have been super moist. I was even light-handed on the blending of wet with dry ingredients. Still, too dry for my liking. I will say that the orange flavor was dead-on perfect. I think I will continue to search for that perfect moist orange loaf. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
We gobbled this up in one day. I will take the suggestion to reduce the glaze and brush it on after you take it out of the pan next time. Now that my daughter is allergic to wheat, it was disappointing not to be able to make this recipe. But I found replacements that work great. Follow the recipe exactly except the replacements below: 3 eggs instead of 2. 1 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour plus 1/3 cup coconut flour instead of 2 cups all-purpose flour I also added one scoop vanilla whey protein powder and 1/2 cup of white chocolate chips. Instead of a loaf, I made muffins baked for 20 minutes. (FYI, my oven runs about 25°F below temperature)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is fantastic! The flavor was perfect. I ended up making 6 extra loafs over Christmas time per multiple requests. My only problem was it was a bit dry so I added 1/4 a cup of oj per loaf and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My family and I thought this was just okay. The texture is a bit dry, as others have said. The glaze helps, but unfortunately I just don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This loaf was easy to make and baked well. I substituted butter for margarine and orange peel/zest for zest since I only had a small tangerine. Put in about 2/3 cup sugar or so (instead of whole cup) in the loaf and it was still good. Used all the glaze but did let it cook/boil down as others suggested. It had trouble soaking in so i would pull back the sides of the bread in the pan to allow it to seep down the sides. My husband was very happy with this. note-it may not take the full hour to bake! Keep an eye on it and test it if you aren't sure. My loaf only took 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The flavour was good. Not too sure why the loaf turned out super dry, but it did. Used honey and orange juice for the glaze. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I have a orange tree in my back yard now so I couldn't wait to try this. The flavor was so good and the cake was beyond moist. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Defuniak Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States