Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I added extra orange extract and did not use the glaze since I was freezing them. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This tasted good enough but it wasn't great. Kind of dry and I wasn't thrilled with the glaze. I was able to use up some oranges so that's a plus but this wasn't the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I added the extra 1/4 cup margarine that was recommended and boiled the glaze a little longer and it was wonderful!! My family said I could make this as often as I want to. I made it into two smaller loaves and one loaf was gone before they even cooled completely. Will make lots and lots!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was a good breakfast bread. I made some changes after reading the reviews. I added some oil to keep it moist and I reduced the orange glaze to make sure it wasn't too runny. As soon as the bread came out of the oven I pricked it with a fork all over. Then when I drizzled the glaze over the bread it seeped down into those fork holes and really made the bread more moist and orangey throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baily
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Had some oranges that I needed to use up. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful! Even my very picky 7 year old son loved it! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I followed several reviewers suggestions and added the following: 1 tsp vanilla and 1/4 cup oil to the batter; 1/8 tsp vanilla to the glaze and boiling the glaze down a bit and the loaf turned out amazing. Not dry at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I liked this recipe. I used whole wheat flour and butter instead of margarine. I only baked for 40 min and didn't use the glaze, just sprinkled on some powdered sugar. It was late and I got tired. I will try with extra oj next time to maybe moisten it up a bit, but definitely a great late night snack for a sweet lover like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
MY NEW FAVORITE!! with an orange tree in the back yard, I am always trying new ways to use them. I made a loaf last night, and it was soooo good I made two more loafs! I added 1tsp of vanilla to the batter and an 1/8tsp to the glaze. It was magical! I'll making this weekly with my oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This bread was plenty sweet, even though I used a tad less sugar than called for. Nice and orange-y. It was pretty dry though, and the glaze wasn't much of a glaze. Altogether, it was a solid recipe, but I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was ok; it had a good, orange citrusy flavor. But as others have said, it's on the dry side and crumbly. I even added in an extra 1/4 cup of OJ, but I think what's wrong with this recipe is there is no oil in it. I've never made a quick bread that didn't call for some amount of oil. I doubt I'll make this again, but thought I'd throw this opinion out there - try adding in 1/4-1/3 cup of oil and see if you get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States