Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I made this to use up some of my many oranges. It was refreshingly different, a good cake with coffee or tea. I did cook the glaze longer than directed to reduce the liquid. **Update, made a light version: Doubled recipe,used one stick of margarine/butter, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, fresh squeezed oranges with some of the pulp and hand shaved the zest with a knife. Baked in a 9x13 glass pan for 45 min. Didn't change the glaze. Came out wonderfully! It was a hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYPOLLY4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
YUM! Only change is I used OJ concentrate instead of fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I added extra orange extract and did not use the glaze since I was freezing them. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This tasted good enough but it wasn't great. Kind of dry and I wasn't thrilled with the glaze. I was able to use up some oranges so that's a plus but this wasn't the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I added the extra 1/4 cup margarine that was recommended and boiled the glaze a little longer and it was wonderful!! My family said I could make this as often as I want to. I made it into two smaller loaves and one loaf was gone before they even cooled completely. Will make lots and lots!! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was a good breakfast bread. I made some changes after reading the reviews. I added some oil to keep it moist and I reduced the orange glaze to make sure it wasn't too runny. As soon as the bread came out of the oven I pricked it with a fork all over. Then when I drizzled the glaze over the bread it seeped down into those fork holes and really made the bread more moist and orangey throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baily
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Had some oranges that I needed to use up. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful! Even my very picky 7 year old son loved it! This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I followed several reviewers suggestions and added the following: 1 tsp vanilla and 1/4 cup oil to the batter; 1/8 tsp vanilla to the glaze and boiling the glaze down a bit and the loaf turned out amazing. Not dry at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I liked this recipe. I used whole wheat flour and butter instead of margarine. I only baked for 40 min and didn't use the glaze, just sprinkled on some powdered sugar. It was late and I got tired. I will try with extra oj next time to maybe moisten it up a bit, but definitely a great late night snack for a sweet lover like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
MY NEW FAVORITE!! with an orange tree in the back yard, I am always trying new ways to use them. I made a loaf last night, and it was soooo good I made two more loafs! I added 1tsp of vanilla to the batter and an 1/8tsp to the glaze. It was magical! I'll making this weekly with my oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States