Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made this yesterday. I used butter & "Sunny D" instead of orange juice & added 2 tsp of veg oil to the mix. It turned out awesome. I put it in a 8x8 pan for 50min. Will definately be making this again, thanx ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: West Lorne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
perfect! i had made a bread like this in high school home-ec and have been looking for a recipe since then. it tasted just like i remember and will be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very easy to make but not the light spring citrus cake that I was looking for. I did follow the recipe exactly other than adding a little orange extract. The orange taste was perfect but I did not like the dense texture or the crust. Maybe the cook time needs to be changed and using butter instead or margarine cold also improve the cake, not a recipe that I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
A quick and economical loaf that's also delicious! I used butter instead of margarine and reduced the sugar in the cake to 1/2c. The 'glaze' is more of a syrup. I poked holes in the cake and brushed half of the syrup over. Using the full amount would have been too sweet for me. I also used an 8 x 8 pan, so the cake baked in 20 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great recipe , Everyone loved it . I added a tad bit more orange zest to give it the bit extra orange flavor . This is for sure a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
My husband said the bread was good but not "out of this world." I added a little extra orange juice to the bread and halved the sauce/glaze. If I were to make it again, I might increase the amount of orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is one of the best "breads/cakes" i've ever made. I made the recipe just as it reads until I got to the glaze. I added about 6-8oz of orange marmalade in a sauce pan first, then added the orange juice and sugar. I let that simmer for about 3 minutes. I can't image the cake any other way. I totally recommend this recipe and I'm debating making another loaf right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Wonderful Orange Flavor!! Thanks for the great recipe. I made it just as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This should be a featured recipe! Excellent just the way it is, with no additions. I made it with orange and also made 1 with lemon in place of the orange. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glopsey
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I made it vegan by: using egg replacer, vegan butter, and vegan white sugar. I also made the glaze with pineapple juice instead of orange and let it reduce a bit (I still used orange in the loaf itself). This recipe makes 11 regular sized muffins. Highly recommended. If you make this into muffins bake until brown (it won't take an hour, keep an eye on it!). Grease it up good before pouring into the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glopsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States