Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
WOW! what a phenominal cake (LOAF) !! I doubled the recipe as I am doing some holiday baking and boy-oh-boy will I be proud to give this away! I made two loaves and a couple mini-bundt cakes. The glaze did not turn out as thick as I expected so maybe I did not get it hot enough or cook it long enough, so maybe someone could elaborate on that for me. WILL definitely make this again, hubby is going to LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
The loaf looked good but just didn't taste so great. It was missing something. Maybe the orange zest that I omitted since I didn't have any. The glaze never thickened and it was more like OJ consistency. If I make this again I may just use powdered sugar for the glaze instead of reg sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This loaf really is quick and easy to make. I double the recipe and baked two loaves at once to save energy. The glaze really gave the loaves an extra burst of citrus flavor. My only complaint was they were a little bit crumbly right out of the oven (I was very impatient to try them!) However, after sitting in the fridge over night they were just fine. They were very moist and a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
this was really good, like a orange pound cake, the sauce made the bread. Was a good breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Meh, nothng special. It got eaten but not with any great excitment. The topping was probably the best part, I definately wouldn't recommend skipping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
makes a great loaf with an intense orange flavor. i really like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Oh so good. I didnt have any trouble with this being dry. Although I like the glaze think I might use an orange frosting next time as this is more like a cake than a quickbread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I have been craving for orange flavour cake/bread and I get my satisfation from this loaf as the loaf itself is not sweet and the sweetness came from the glaze. Thank you so much Carol for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Absolutely delicious! My baby boy loves it, too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POETGODDESS813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was very easy to make and had a nice aroma. My boyfriend thinks it's ok and my mother likes it. For some reason, the taste reminds me of cereal which I'm not too fond of. I may make it again at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Chef John's Orange Duck

See how to make simple, saucy, somewhat sexy duck a l’Orange.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States