Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I used this recipe for muffins. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Mine turned out really dry. I think I may increase the butter next time. The taste was really good and had great organge taste. Just crumbly and dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I hadn't had orange loaf since I was a child until I came across this. I've made it twice now, and it's easy and delicious, though I agree with some reviewers about the glaze being a bit much. Next time I think I will try to cook it longer to reduce it, as some have suggested. If that doesn't work, I'll just use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Delicious! I added about a tablespoon of honey to the glaze to thicken it up a bit. Excellent, it is my hubby's new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
The flavor of this bread was oh so orange! Quite delightful. However, I'm giving it 4 stars because the "glaze" was too liquidy to be considered a glaze. I followed the recipe exactly and it made so much that I think it calls for reducing the "sugared juice" in the pan to thicken it into a glaze. Otherwise it was very good! Update: Made it again and this time simmered the glaze until it redused to about half and then removed the bread from pan and brushed it on. Came out much better! 5 Stars! On a side note, I accidently added only 1/2 cup sugar to the bread and it still came out delightful! Great way to cut back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
WOW! what a phenominal cake (LOAF) !! I doubled the recipe as I am doing some holiday baking and boy-oh-boy will I be proud to give this away! I made two loaves and a couple mini-bundt cakes. The glaze did not turn out as thick as I expected so maybe I did not get it hot enough or cook it long enough, so maybe someone could elaborate on that for me. WILL definitely make this again, hubby is going to LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmhousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loma Linda, California, USA
Living In: Pekin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
The loaf looked good but just didn't taste so great. It was missing something. Maybe the orange zest that I omitted since I didn't have any. The glaze never thickened and it was more like OJ consistency. If I make this again I may just use powdered sugar for the glaze instead of reg sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This loaf really is quick and easy to make. I double the recipe and baked two loaves at once to save energy. The glaze really gave the loaves an extra burst of citrus flavor. My only complaint was they were a little bit crumbly right out of the oven (I was very impatient to try them!) However, after sitting in the fridge over night they were just fine. They were very moist and a big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
this was really good, like a orange pound cake, the sauce made the bread. Was a good breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Meh, nothng special. It got eaten but not with any great excitment. The topping was probably the best part, I definately wouldn't recommend skipping it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States