Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Just made this to take on vaca. I found the cake moist and flavorful. I think it will travel well. I used my favorite- fresh clementine juice and zest - possibly giving it a stronger orange flavor. I did add some pecans and can't wait for the others in the house to have as much delight as I found in the first of many bites. If fresh juice isn't doeable, try frozen orange juice - undiluted. Cut back a little on the sugar and you'll have the flavor without the trouble of juicing.. Thanks Carol for sharing with us..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yolanda Gloster
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this loaf with my own little twist to it so I could use up some leftover pomegranate juice I didn't drink because it was too strong. It made for a very delicious bread though. Instead of 1/2 cup orange juice, I used 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup pomegranate juice and I did the same thing to make the glaze and it made a very pretty color glaze! Check out my photo of my Orange- Pomegranate Loaf, try it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda Gloster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is a really easy, very yummy orange cake. However, 1 hr baking time is waaaay too long! I baked mine for 40 minutes and it was a little over done (a rather thick brown crust formed on the sides and bottom.) The orange simple syrup is so good on here, don't skip it! I used fresh squeezed oj, added 2 Tb canola oil as other reviewer suggested, and added 1 tsp vanilla. I'll make this again, baking for about 30 minutes before checking for doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I've made this 3 times now and its great every time! I will be making it many more times too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Wonderful. I did add the 2 Tbsp of oil, and used pecans instead of walnuts (it's what I had on hand). The flavor was excellent and the bread was very moist. I baked mine in four 1 lb mini-loaf pans (sharing keeps it off my hips, lol), on convection bake at 325° for 35 minutes. Will definitely be making again, probably next week, as Holiday gifts. I think I will sneak some Gran Marnier into the simple syrup/glaze. Between the heating to melt the sugar and the fact that it's poured onto oven hot loaves (which I left in the pan until tasting/packaging as treats) and allowed to cool uncovered, I think all the alcohol will evaporate and it will taste divine. I'll come back and let you know how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this for a dinner party I was invited to last week. Skipped the nuts and the glaze, made a toffee instead and put it in the bottom before baking the cake. The group loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made a few changes but it was fabulous! the comments about the glaze were discouraging so I didn't make it. Since I had no oranges, I used 1 tsp of orange zest. I also added some cinnamon to enhance the orange flavor. This is a new favorite of mine and I will definitely be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this recipe to use up some orange juice I had in the fridge. I did add 2 T. of vegetable oil as suggested, but other than that I followed the recipe. I thought the glaze made part of the top a little soggy, but it still tasted good. My biggest disappointment was that the finished loaf was so flat and didn’t have any dome at all. Since I’m not sure how to “fix” that, I probably won’t make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Some reviewers said this was on the dry side, so I took the advise of one and added vegetable oil to the mix. I also skipped the glaze and sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on the top before baking. A very nice change for a quick bread that we enjoyed. Thank you for sharing, Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States