Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
killer recipe-- I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Gwinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Very nice taste, texture, and aroma! I used almond slivers instead of walnuts, and I really like that combo with the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This is a nice loaf. I made it in 3 mini loaf pans and they took about 40 minutes to bake. I added 1/4 teaspoon of orange extract to the batter along with the rind and orange juice. The loaves would be pretty dry without the glaze so I wouldn't recommend skipping it. I thought that 1/4 cup sugar wasn't enough to make a syrupy glaze so I increased it to 1/2. I also added the juice from 1/2 a lemon, which made the glaze more tart and citrusy. I didn't use all of it on the loaves because I was afraid to make them too soggy, but I think I probably could have used it all without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This was really easy to put together with all ingredients on hand. I would have to say the glaze made this loaf stand out, and gave it that extra punch. The bread part by itself would have gotten 4 stars, but with the glaze-it is a 5 star all the way. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This first time I made this, I think I must have accidentally used too much flour, because I felt it was too dry. I just made it again, but this time I used pineapple juice instead of orange juice, and threw in some pineapple chunks into the batter. I cannot tell you how unbelievably moist and delicious it is. I`m hard pressed not to eat the whole thing myself. I also poured the batter into two, much smaller sized bread pans and baked them for only 25 minutes at 150 degrees celsius, and they turns out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Very good. Much like a pound cake which is what I wanted. I used an 8x8 square dish and only baked for 45-50 minutes. The glaze came out fine but I wish I had made it thicker by letting it simmer down, stirring constantly, until it coats the spoon like thick syrup. As it was it was a bit thin and permeated the cake a little more than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I thought that this was more like an orange pound cake than a bread. When I poured the glaze on I thought it was going to be too much, but it was fine. You really could not see the glaze but it added a lot of flavor.I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. YUMMY! I added a little orange food coloring just for fun. I would check this just before an hour next time. Also, I made this for a shower where the theme was tropical and omitted the sauce that goes on top so that it would match the other breads we had. So, I can't wait to try it again with that delicious-sounding sauce!!! Very, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Manor Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Simply delicious, and even better the next day, though it didn't last longer than that. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This is a very good and EASY pound cake recipe. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and the cake was perfect. Next time I will use a smaller loaf pan than called for in the recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States