Orange-Kissed Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Delicious and not runny like some rhubarb pies. The orange juice adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My first time making a strawberry/rhubarb pie - it tasted just like my grandma's did! I did find it a bit runny... maybe it needs a little more tapioca? I also used Mom's Pie Crust as another reviewer recommended... This is now my favorite pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Sounded so good; I had to try this pie. I used frozen strawberries instead, and made 1 pie. My wife was amazed that I could do this. :) Made me happy and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is an amazing pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This pie is FANTASTIC! The orange is a wonderful addition...just adds a hint of additional flavor. I followed the recipe except I used a 350 degree oven and cooked the pie for 70 minutes. The crust edges never burned. I will definitely make this again...I think next time for something different I will use my kutchen topping instead of a double crust...which is 1/4 cup melted butter...1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup flour mixed together and sprinkled on top. Definitely FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Big hit with the family. Delicious!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This pie was fantastic. I was sceptical about what exactly the orange would add to this pie, but it was very very good and an interesting twist on a classic. I had regular tapioca as opposed to instant so I soaked it for 30 minutes in water, then drained it before adding it to the filling. Worked great-pie was nicely setup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This worked out really well. I didn't exactly have all the ingredients, and subbed 1/4 cup tapioca starch for tapioca, added 1/4 frozen concentrate OJ for fresh stuff, and 1/4 cup candied orange peel for grated peel. Turned out wonderfully. I baked it in "Mom's Pie Crust Recipe" at 350 degrees for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
YUM!!!!added a few apples, because I didn't have enough rhubarb... first time using 'tapioca' it's great! bestest pie evah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANNETTE1990
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Decided to try this recipe because I am attending a 4th of July BBQ. Followed recipe exactly and it turned out awesome. I made two pies one for after dinner tonight and one for tomorrow. Thank you will use recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNETTE1990

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States