Orange Juice Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This chicken is awesome! Although, I did sprinkle a little poultry seasoning on top of the chicken before pouring in the orange juice as I found that it was a little too sweet without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Baum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe was an absolute disaster to make but was incredibly delicious. My chicken breasts must have been MUCH plumper than most other reviewers' because I had to use almost twice the orange juice the recipe for to cover 90% of the chicken. That meant the flour called for was inadequate so I had to keep adding until I got the sauce to thicken. But the taste is WONDERFUL! Might try making it in a smaller casserole dish next time which would decrease the amount of orange juice needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a simple and yummy meal. The only thing I might change next time is to stick to 2c. of OJ, even if it doesn't cover the chicken....I ended up with WAY to much sauce. Paired with a vegetable and some crusty bread...for mopping up the sauce...it was a nice meal, that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used green onion instead and added a splash of soy sauce to it before cooking (wanted it tangy). Also, because some reviewers noted that the dish was too sweet, I used less than 1/4 cup of brown sugar on top of the chicken. After cooking for 45 minutes, I poured a little honey on top of the chicken then popped the dish under the broiler for 10 minutes to brown up the top of the chicken. I did not make the sauce by adding flour at the end, but just served the chicken in the juices, which were delicious (making the dish gluten free, too!). Not too sweet at all, and putting the chicken under the broiler cooked away some of the liquid. The chicken was super moist, sweet and tangy. Plenty depth of flavor. And really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Tasty and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
It turned out great!!! My boyfriend and I really liked it... even though he's not much of a chicken eater!! Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
the sauce is awesome and great over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsdjane
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was fantastic! I made this twice and the second time I made a few tweeks.... Both was worthy of 5 stars so don't get me wrong here... The second time with the tweeks... First - I added 1 TBS diced jalapeno to the mix. Second - I made a extra amount of sauce and marinated the chicken in it for 4 hours before cooking. To us this really helped bring the flavors together. Finally - I used cornstarch instead of flour in the final making of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
way to much oj, and my oj (fresh squeezed) turned bitter during cooking. How can you have a 5 star recipe with no seasonings? Even with seasonings there was no saving this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States